JMS goes digital!

Interview with Dinah Ehrenfreund, Kathrin Gisin and Naomi Lubrich

In win­ter 2022, the Jewish Muse­um of Switz­er­land is making its collec­tion acces­si­ble online. Han­nah Schön­ho­fen spo­ke with Kath­rin Gisin, pro­ject coor­di­na­tor, Dinah Ehren­freund, cura­tor, and Nao­mi Lub­rich, muse­um direc­tor, about how to make the objects from the past avail­ab­le for the future.

HS: Why did you deci­de to put the museum’s collec­tion online?

DE: The JMS holds the lar­gest publicly acces­si­ble collec­tion of Jewish objects in Switz­er­land. But we only show a small per­cen­ta­ge of our collec­tion in our exhi­bi­ti­ons. We store many other objects in our depots. They also deser­ve to be seen, so we would like to make them acces­si­ble to the inte­res­ted public.

HS: How big is the collec­tion and how is it documented?

KG: The collec­tion cur­r­ent­ly com­pri­ses about 2050 inven­to­ry num­bers. Sin­ce some inven­to­ry num­bers encom­pass several indi­vi­du­al items, we have about 4000 objects in total. Until the turn of the mill­en­ni­um, our muse­um kept an ana­log card index for its inven­to­ry. Star­ting in 2000, the ent­ries on the index cards were trans­fer­red to a data­ba­se. We see a dis­crepan­cy in the descrip­ti­ons of the objects, some with gre­at and others with les­ser detail. In the cour­se of the pro­ject, we plan to stan­dar­di­ze the descrip­ti­ons and sup­ple­ment the infor­ma­ti­on whe­re we can. We’re also adding good object pho­to­graphs for each object.

HS: Will all the objects go online?

NL: No, only a selec­tion. First we have to look at all the ent­ries in our data­ba­se and trans­la­te the texts into Eng­lish and French. Then we will ask our object donors whe­ther and how they would like to be named. The same goes for len­ders. When they give us their go-ahead, we can add their objects to the online collection.

HS: What is the next step in the project?

DE: After we have loo­ked at each ent­ry, we will spend some weeks rese­ar­ching the objects we know least about. In addi­ti­on to our team, we will invi­te a his­to­ri­an and a Judai­ca expert to look at the objects with us. We hope to find out more about them, inclu­ding their collec­tion history.

HS: In what way is the digi­tiz­a­ti­on pro­ject con­nec­ted to the museum’s move?

NL: For plan­ning the exhi­bi­ti­on and buil­ding our new sto­rage space, it is very hel­pful to have, for instance, the exact mea­su­re­ments of the objects, mea­ning their height, width and depth. The mea­su­re­ments allow us to build dis­play cases and sto­rage space in the right sizes. Their mate­ri­al is also important. Knowing exact­ly how many are made of metal, tex­ti­le, or paper, allows us to store them bet­ter. Some objects need to be pro­tec­ted from light, others are sen­si­ti­ve to temperature.

HS: Thank you very much!

verfasst am 09.05.2022

JMS goes digital!

Ein Interview mit Kathrin Gisin, Dinah Ehrenfreund und Naomi Lubrich

Das Jüdi­sche Muse­um der Schweiz stellt sei­ne Samm­lung online. Ab Win­ter 2022 sol­len die ers­ten Objek­te auf der Muse­ums­web­site zu sehen sein. Han­nah Schön­ho­fen spricht mit Kath­rin Gisin, Pro­jekt­ko­or­di­na­to­rin, Dinah Ehren­freund, Kura­to­rin, und Nao­mi Lub­rich, Muse­ums­lei­te­rin, über das Vor­ha­ben, die Expo­na­te aus der Ver­gan­gen­heit in die Zukunft zu bringen.

HS: War­um geht die Samm­lung des Muse­ums online?

DE: Das JMS beher­bergt die gröss­te öffent­lich zugäng­li­che Samm­lung jüdi­scher Objek­te in der Schweiz. Aber wir zei­gen nur einen Teil der Objek­te in unse­ren Aus­stel­lun­gen. Vie­le wei­te­re Objek­te lie­gen im Depot. Nun möch­ten wir auch sie für die inter­es­sier­te Öffent­lich­keit zugäng­lich machen.

HS: Wie gross ist die Samm­lung, und wie wird sie dokumentiert?

KG: Die Samm­lung umfasst der­zeit etwa 2050 Inven­tar­num­mern. Da man­che Inven­tar­num­mern Kon­vo­lu­te meh­re­rer Ein­zel­stü­cke umfas­sen, ent­spre­chen die­se über 4000 Samm­lungs­ob­jek­ten. Die Inven­ta­ri­sie­rung wur­de bis zur Jahr­tau­send­wen­de ana­log geführt – im klas­si­schen Zet­tel­kas­ten. Ab 2000 wur­den die Ein­trä­ge der Kar­tei­kar­ten in eine Samm­lungs­da­ten­bank über­tra­gen. Dabei gibt es gros­se Qua­li­täts­un­ter­schie­de in der Beschrei­bung der Objek­te. Hier wol­len wir nach­bes­sern. Im Zuge des Pro­jek­tes wer­den die Anga­ben ver­ein­heit­licht und ergänzt, zum Bei­spiel um gute Objektfotografien.

HS: Gehen alle Objek­te online?

NL: Nein, nur eine Aus­wahl. Zunächst müs­sen wir alle Ein­trä­ge in unse­rer Daten­bank über­prü­fen, und die Tex­te ins Eng­li­sche und Fran­zö­si­sche über­set­zen. Objekt­spen­der wer­den ange­fragt, ob und wie sie genannt wer­den möch­ten und Leih­ge­be­rin­nen wer­den ange­fragt, ob sie mit einer Ver­öf­fent­li­chung ihrer Leih­ga­ben ein­ver­stan­den sind. Erst wenn die Rech­te geklärt sind, stel­len wir die Objek­te online.

HS: Wie ist dann der wei­te­re Ablauf im Projekt?

DE: Nach­dem wir alle Ein­trä­ge gesich­tet haben, sol­len aus­ge­wähl­te Objek­te in einer mehr­wö­chi­gen «Rese­arch-a-thon», also eine Objekt­be­schau­ung, mit einer His­to­ri­ke­rin und einer Judai­ca-Exper­tin erforscht wer­den. Wir hof­fen, dass wir so zusätz­li­che Infor­ma­tio­nen fin­den, die uns bei der Iden­ti­fi­zie­rung unse­rer Objek­te und ihrer Samm­lungs­ge­schich­te hel­fen können.

HS: Wie ver­hält sich das Digi­ta­li­sie­rungs­pro­jekt zum Umzug des Museums?

NL: Für die Aus­stel­lungs­pla­nung und für den Depot­bau möch­ten wir die Mass­an­ga­ben der Objek­te, also die Höhe, die Brei­te und die Tie­fe, ver­voll­stän­di­gen. Die­se Anga­ben erlau­ben es uns, Vitri­nen in der rich­ti­gen Grös­se und Depots mit aus­rei­chend Platz zu bau­en. Neben der Mas­se ist auch die Beschaf­fen­heit der Objek­te wich­tig zu erfas­sen, also ob sie bei­spiels­wei­se aus Metall, Tex­til, oder Papier sind. Man­che Objek­te müs­sen vor Licht geschützt wer­den, ande­re sind temperaturempfindlich.

HS: Vie­len Dank!

 

verfasst am 09.05.2022