Exhibitions

Current

Jewish. For Beginners and Experts

Current Exhibition
2016–2023

What is Jewish? Objects from two millennia offer insight into the oldest
Abrahamic world religion, as celebrated by the Swiss Jewish community
to this day.

What is Jewish? Objects from two millennia offer insight into the oldest
Abrahamic world religion, as celebrated by the Swiss Jewish community
to this day.

A ring from anti­qui­ty, docu­ments from the Midd­le Ages, books from
the ear­ly modern era, house­hold objects from the 18th and 19th centuries,
mani­fest­os for equal rights, tes­ti­mo­nies of the Zio­nist congresses,
belon­gings of emi­grants, con­tem­pora­ry items from Jewish families
today – expe­ri­ence the country’s histo­ry from a new perspective.

 

Video­gui­de (blog arti­cle)
Exhi­bi­ti­on fly­er (PDF)
Press images (ZIP)

Permanent exhibition
Photos © Oliver Kern, 2016

Permanent exhibition
Photos © Oliver Kern, 2016

Permanent exhibition
Photos © Oliver Kern, 2016

read more

Chai

Installation in the Courtyard
2020–2023

The Jewish Museum of Switzerland presents the installation «Chai – חי, or When Gravestones Tell of Life» by Swiss artist Fabio Luks. Four sculptures enter into a dialog with the medieval gravestones in the museum courtyard, posing questions about the meaning of life and death.

The Jewish Museum of Switzerland presents the installation «Chai – חי, or When Gravestones Tell of Life» by Swiss artist Fabio Luks. Four sculptures enter into a dialog with the medieval gravestones in the museum courtyard, posing questions about the meaning of life and death.

«Chai» enab­les a new encoun­ter with the Basel gra­ve­stones on dis­play, the oldest of which dates back to 1223: The Hebrew word Chai / חי, which means «ali­ve» or «he/she/it lives,» is engra­ved on four sculp­tures, which are model­led on medi­eval gra­ve­stones in their aes­the­tics and mate­ria­li­ty. In addi­ti­on, the four sculp­tures are in the form of four let­ters that can be read from left to right as C‑H-A‑I.

Luks jux­ta­po­ses life with death. He refers to the Jewish tra­di­ti­on of cal­ling a ceme­tery the house of eter­ni­ty (beith almin) and the house of life (beith chaim). In the use of lan­guage, the decea­sed live on. Lan­guage plays a para­mount role in Luks’ art. The engra­ved texts turn stones into sculp­tu­re– and sculp­tu­re into souls.

Fabio Luks (*1982, Switz­er­land) stu­di­ed Fine Arts at the Insti­tu­te of Art in Basel and Phi­lo­so­phy and Jewish Stu­dies at the Uni­ver­si­ty of Basel. Text and wri­ting are at the cent­re of Luks’ work. Texts beco­me images and let­ters unfold their figu­ra­ti­ve poten­ti­al. Com­mu­ni­ca­ti­on, tran­si­en­ce, space and being an artist are recur­ring the­mes in his work, which can be seen on his web­site.

Gui­ded Tours (Pri­va­te)

Photo © Harald Neumann

Photo © Harald Neumann

Photo © Harald Neumann

Photo © Ana Laura Rivarola

Photo © Ana Laura Rivarola

Photo © Ana Laura Rivarola

read more

Online Exhibitions

Objects of Faith

What do the youth believe in?
2017

Glaubensdinge.ch (in German)

What do the youth believe in? What role does religion play for twelve- and thirteen-year-olds, who have grown up in Basel in families with multiple cultural heritages?

Together with school classes, Objects of Faith examines religious diversity as both an opportunity and a challenge in today’s society. Against the backdrop of the Judaica collection of the Jewish Museum, museologists and young students placed their own «objects of faith» under the loupe. In five workshops with 21 students, one teacher, ten Museum employees, two religion experts and one programmer, we collected inventory cards, sketches, polaroids, poems, quotes and interviews, a collection that culminated in an online exhibition.

What was the result? The youth were able to better understand the things that have shaped their identities, and the adults were afforded a glimpse at how the young people think about the future of religious practice.

This online exhibition was conceived and developed by the Jewish Museum of Switzerland and supported by Swisslos-Fonds Basel-Stadt.

Photos © Martin Sautter, 2017

Photos © Martin Sautter, 2017

Photos © Martin Sautter, 2017

Photos © Martin Sautter, 2017

Photos © Martin Sautter, 2017

Photos © Martin Sautter, 2017

Photos © Martin Sautter, 2017

Photos © Martin Sautter, 2017

Photos © Martin Sautter, 2017

Photos © Martin Sautter, 2017

Archive

Passports, Profiteers, Police

A Swiss War Secret
2019–2020

29 November 2019–31 December 2020

«I would like to have a Uruguayan passport» – thus begins Władysław Szlengel's song «Paszporty» (passports), composed in 1942 in the ghetto of Warsaw. It continues: «I would like one for Uruguay, one for Costa Rica, one for Paraguay.» The Latin American passports are not a poetic invention, but a historically verifiable service of help that operated from Switzerland.

The exhibition «Passports, Profiteers, Police. A Swiss War Secret» unveils the network that helped thousands of Jews escape Germany and the occupied territories by providing them with Latin American passports, thus saving them from certain death.

This is an exhibition of the Jewish Museum of Switzerland in cooperation with Archiv für Zeitgeschichte der ETH Zürich under the patronage of Carl Lutz Gesellschaft.

The catalog can be obtained in the museum shop, or from the publishing house edition clandestin.

Passports, Profiteers, Police.
Photos © Samuel Straessle

Passports, Profiteers, Police.
Photos © Samuel Straessle

Passports, Profiteers, Police.
Photos © Samuel Straessle

Passports, Profiteers, Police.
Photos © Samuel Straessle

Passports, Profiteers, Police.
Photos © Samuel Straessle

The Diary

How Otto Frank Brought Anne’s Voice from Basel to the World
2018–2019

8th March 2018 – 30th January 2019

«The Diary. How Otto Frank Brought Anne’s Voice from Basel to the World» tells the story of Anne Frank's diary from the perspective of her father, Otto Frank, «the dearest sweetheart of a father I've ever met,» as Anne notes. He gave Anne the diary in which she kept her observations and thoughts from 1942 to 1944, when she and her family were living in hiding from the Nazis. Otto Frank read to his daughters, he wrote them letters and poems, and he supported their writing. In 1947, two years after the untimely death of his children, he published Anne’s diary.

In 1952, Otto Frank moved to Basel to visit his sister and mother. From Basel and later from Birsfelden he negotiated with publishers for Anne's diary, supervised translations and answered tens of thousands of readers’ letters. Otto Frank's decision to publish his daughter's notes was an essential step in spreading knowledge about the persecution of European Jews. After the publication of Anne Frank's diary, reports, novels and poems by other survivors of the Shoah found numerous readers.

The exhibition is supported by Sulger-Stiftung and Anne Frank Fonds (founded by Otto Frank).

Isrealities

Seven Photographic Journeys
2019

29th March – 1st September 2019

«Isrealities» presents seven photographic journeys. Philippe Halsman, David Seymour, called CHIM, Erich Hartmann, Micha Bar-Am, Patrick Zachmann, Thomas Dworzak, and Oded Balilty give us a tour through the British Mandate for Palestine, guiding us through the founding of the Jewish State to present-day Israel. We participate in kibbutz life and the festivities of Independence Day, we witness the Six-Day War of 1967 and the peace demonstrations of the turn of the millennium. We see what the artists saw and how they saw it. Literary quotes accompanying the photographs form out of individual observations a mosaic of an emerging society.

The exhibition is supported by the Society for the Jewish Museum of Switzerland.

«Isrealities» is an exhibition of the Jewish Museum of Switzerland and CLAIRbyKahn after an idea by Anna-Patricia Kahn. All the artists are represented by CLAIRbyKahn.

Art after Chagall

The Century after the Breakthrough
2017

18 September 2017–21 Januar 2018

Marc Chagall's breakthrough from 1911 onwards heralded the most important century of Jewish art to date. New images of Judaism went around the world, uniting East with West, religion with surrealism and folklore with avant-garde. With his dreamlike, modern paintings of the Eastern European shtetl, Chagall’s example inspired artists in photography, graphic art and painting.

In dialog with the Art Museum of Basel (Chagall. The Years of Breakthrough 1911-1919), the Jewish Museum presents artists who follow in Chagall's footsteps from Switzerland, Austria, Italy, Israel and the USA.

On display are works by Paul Graubard, Otto Wyler, Tobia Ravà, Shai Yehezkelli, Roger Reiss, Alis Guggenheim, Friedensreich Hundertwasser and Zoya Cherkassky.

The exhibition was sponsored by Roldenfund.

Flyer (PDF)

Photo © Naomi Lubrich

Photo © Naomi Lubrich

Photo © Naomi Lubrich

Neuland/Altland

Theodor Herzl’s European legacy
2017

18th August–10th September 2017

In 1897, Theodor Herzl convened a congress in Basel, during which he introduced his idea of a «Jewish State.» With our online exhibition, we show the development of his vision through objects, which include items in the Jewish Museum’s permanent collection. We show the development of Herzl’s vision of a «Jewish State.» Originating in the late nineteenth century, it developed into a political movement through numerous Zionist Congresses. Herzl did not live to see the declaration of the State of Israel in 1948, but he numbers among its spiritual founders, and even today his legacy remains: His countenance decorates banknotes and stamps, and his name is inscribed in Israel’s geography (Herzlia, Herzlberg). Our online exhibition draws on objects from the collection of the Jewish Museum of Switzerland to give a glimpse into Herzl’s life and work.

The exhibition celebrating the 120th anniversary of the first Zionist Congress is dedicated to Herzl's legacy and his charisma as seen by contemporary artists. At the same time, it reflects on the role of artists, whose images have the power to turn people into icons.

The exhibition was conceived by the Embassy of the State of Israel in cooperation with the Jewish Museum of Switzerland.

The online exhibition «Altland. Theodor Herzl's European Legacy» complements the special exhibition and can be accessed at: www.jms-altland.ch.

With generous support from the Basel-Loge Foundation.

Image Creation © Elena Haschemi, 2017

Image Creation © Elena Haschemi, 2017

Image Creation © Elena Haschemi, 2017

Image Creation © Elena Haschemi, 2017

Swiss Jews

150 Years of Equal Rights Voices of Emancipation
Installation in the courtyard
2016

17 March 2016–2 August 2016

On 14 January 1866, 53 percent of the Swiss voted in favour of a partial revision of the Federal Constitution, granting Jews equality and the right of settlement. Today, around 18,000 Swiss Jews help shape the politics, economy, science, and culture of their country.

Before 1866, Jews needed special permission to reside in Switzerland, and these permissions were limited to certain cantons. 150 years ago, a referendum brought about religious emancipation in Switzerland. With the freedom of settlement granted by the referendum of 1866, Swiss Jews were put on an equal footing with other Swiss citizens. Since then, Jews have played a decisive role in shaping the development of this country, in politics, business, science, and culture.

The travelling exhibition conceived by the Swiss Federation of Jewish Communities celebrates the diversity of Judaism in Switzerland and 150 years of equal rights. Alexander Jaquemet, who lives in Erlach, photographed 15 of them. His portraits show younger and older people, known and unknown, from different parts of the country and different social classes. The people portrayed pose in settings of their choice, and with their personal stories. Together, reflect a panorama of Jewish self-images in Switzerland.

Cartoon film (in German) «Schweizer Juden. 150 Jahre Gleichberechtigung»
Press images (ZIP)

Wanted, found

Partnership and Love in Judaism
2014–2016

Love and friendship develop in childhood and old age. The desire for a you and me; for an ideal counterpart influences social and societal life. Religious or not, left to chance or arranged – everyone deals with the search for the «perfect partner» at least once in their lives.

Is the search for a partner culture-specific? Where do Jews find suitable partners? How do they reconcile their own wishes or dreams with socially accepted behaviour? What is the significance of love and marriage, family and divorce in today’s society?

The Jewish Museum of Switzerland’s special exhibition on the transition to togetherness or the decision against it focusses on the diversity of dating, what that means for all generations, and the change from the Bible to online dating in a multicultural environment.

1001 Amulets

Protection and Magic – Faith or Superstition?
2012

The need for protection, luck and well-being has shaped religious and secular societies from antiquity to the present day. People turn to objects with magical power – an amulet, a talisman, a lucky charm – to protect them from harm.

Religion, mysticism, faith and superstition are often closely linked. Belief in the power of amulets is widespread and creates a timeless link between different cultures and religions. The Jewish Museum of Switzerland presents (the continuation of) the successful exhibition of ancient Egyptian and Oriental scarabs and amulets from the Bibel+Orient Museum of Fribourg. These exhibits are complemented by Jewish protective amulets for mother and child, for the home, against illness, danger and the evil eye. The objects originate from eighteenth to the twenty-first century Switzerland, Alsace and southern Germany, but also from North Africa and the Middle East. The exhibition presents amulets in an intercultural context. The richly illustrated catalog provides information on amulets from the ancient Orient to Europe of the present.

Ausstellungen

Aktuell

Jüdisch. Für Anfänger und Fortgeschrittene

Dauerausstellung
2016–2023

Was ist jüdisch? Gegenstände aus zwei Jahrtausenden geben Einblick in die älteste abrahamitische Weltreligion und in eine Gemeinschaft, die die Schweiz bis heute prägt.

Was ist jüdisch? Gegenstände aus zwei Jahrtausenden geben Einblick in die älteste abrahamitische Weltreligion und in eine Gemeinschaft, die die Schweiz bis heute prägt.

Ein Ring aus der Anti­ke, Urkun­den aus dem Mit­tel­al­ter, Bücher aus der Frü­hen Neu­zeit, Haus­halts­ge­gen­stän­de aus dem 18. und 19. Jahr­hun­dert, Plä­doy­er für glei­che Rech­te, Zeug­nis­se der Zio­nis­ten­kon­gres­se, Hab­se­lig­kei­ten von Asyl­su­chen­den, Zeit­ge­nös­si­sches aus jüdi­schen Fami­li­en heu­te: erle­ben Sie die Lan­des­ge­schich­te aus einer ande­ren Perspektive.

Zu den Füh­run­gen (Pri­vat)

Video­gui­de (Blog­ar­ti­kel)
Aus­stel­lungs­fly­er (PDF)

Ausstellungsräume, 2016. Fotos © Oliver Kern

Ausstellungsräume, 2016. Fotos © Oliver Kern

Ausstellungsräume, 2016. Fotos © Oliver Kern

weiterlesen

Chai

Installation im Hof
2020–2023

Das Jüdische Museum der Schweiz zeigt die Installation «CHAI - חי. Oder wenn Grabsteine vom Leben erzählen» des Schweizer Künstlers Fabio Luks. Vier Skulpturen treten im Museumsinnenhof mit mittelalterlichen Grabsteinen in einen Dialog und stellen Fragen nach der Bedeutung von Leben und Tod.

Das Jüdische Museum der Schweiz zeigt die Installation «CHAI - חי. Oder wenn Grabsteine vom Leben erzählen» des Schweizer Künstlers Fabio Luks. Vier Skulpturen treten im Museumsinnenhof mit mittelalterlichen Grabsteinen in einen Dialog und stellen Fragen nach der Bedeutung von Leben und Tod.

«Chai» ermög­licht eine neue Begeg­nung mit den aus­ge­stell­ten Bas­ler Grab­stei­nen, deren ältes­ter aus dem Jahr 1222 stammt: Auf vier Skulp­tu­ren, die in ihrer Ästhe­tik und Mate­ria­li­tät den mit­tel­al­ter­li­chen Grab­stei­nen nach­emp­fun­den sind, ist das hebräi­sche Wort Chai / חי ein­gra­viert, das «lebend» bezie­hungs­wei­se «er/sie/es lebt» bedeu­tet. Zudem haben die vier Skulp­tu­ren die Form von vier Buch­sta­ben, die von links nach rechts als C‑H-A‑I gele­sen wer­den können.

Luks stellt das Leben dem Tod gegen­über. Er bezieht sich dabei auf die jüdi­sche Tra­di­ti­on, einen Fried­hof als Haus der Ewig­keit (beith almin) und als Haus des Lebens (beith chaim) zu bezeich­nen. Im Sprach­ge­brauch leben die Ver­stor­be­nen wei­ter. Spra­che spielt für Luks’ Kunst­schaf­fen eine über­ra­gen­de Rol­le. Die ein­ge­meis­sel­ten Tex­te machen Gestein zum Gedächt­nis­trä­ger – sie machen Mine­ra­li­en zu Menschen.

Fabio Luks (*1982, Schweiz) stu­dier­te Bil­den­de Kunst am Insti­tut Kunst in Basel sowie Phi­lo­so­phie und Jüdi­sche Stu­di­en an der Uni­ver­si­tät Basel. Im Zen­trum von Luks’ Schaf­fen ste­hen Text und Schrift. Tex­te wer­den zu Bil­dern und Buch­sta­ben ent­fal­ten ihr figu­ra­ti­ves Poten­ti­al. Kom­mu­ni­ka­ti­on, Ver­gäng­lich­keit, Raum und das Künst­ler­da­sein sind wie­der­keh­ren­de The­men sei­ner Arbeit, die Sie auf sei­ner Web­site fluks.ch ein­se­hen können.

 

Zu den Füh­run­gen (Pri­vat)

Chai, Fabio Luks. Foto © Harald Neumann

Chai, Fabio Luks. Foto © Harald Neumann

Chai, Fabio Luks. Foto © Ana Laura Rivarola

Chai, Fabio Luks. Foto © Ana Laura Rivarola

weiterlesen

Buchstäblich jüdisch
Eine Deutungsgeschichte

Installation
2021–2024

Was ist «jüdisch»? Ein Griff zum Wörterbuch und ein Blick in Einträge wie «Jude», «Jew» oder «juif» lassen erkennen, wie unterschiedlich «Juden» je nach Zeit, Sprache und Einstellung wahrgenommen wurden. Die Ausstellung zeigt Definitionen aus 400 Jahren auf Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch und Italienisch. Die Vorstellungen, die sich Nicht-Juden von Juden machten, haben eine grosse Bandbreite: sie sind abwertend bis aufwertend, ideologisch bis idealisierend.

 

Zu den Führungen (Öffentlich)

 

Dr. Naomi Lubrich about the idea behind the installation (YOUTUBE)
Studio Streberle über die szenografische Umsetzung (YOUTUBE)
Our guide, Louise Gillman, about the installation (YOUTUBE)
Simone Gehr über die Recherche (YOUTUBE)

 

Was ist «jüdisch»? Ein Griff zum Wörterbuch und ein Blick in Einträge wie «Jude», «Jew» oder «juif» lassen erkennen, wie unterschiedlich «Juden» je nach Zeit, Sprache und Einstellung wahrgenommen wurden. Die Ausstellung zeigt Definitionen aus 400 Jahren auf Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch und Italienisch. Die Vorstellungen, die sich Nicht-Juden von Juden machten, haben eine grosse Bandbreite: sie sind abwertend bis aufwertend, ideologisch bis idealisierend.

 

Zu den Führungen (Öffentlich)

 

Dr. Naomi Lubrich about the idea behind the installation (YOUTUBE)
Studio Streberle über die szenografische Umsetzung (YOUTUBE)
Our guide, Louise Gillman, about the installation (YOUTUBE)
Simone Gehr über die Recherche (YOUTUBE)

 

Ausstellungsansichten, Buchstäblich jüdisch.
Fotos © Samuel Straessle

weiterlesen

Online Ausstellungen

Glaubensdinge

Woran glaubt die Jugend?
2017

Glaubensdinge.ch

Welche Rolle spielt die Religion für Zwölf- und Dreizehnjährige, die in Basel in gläubigen, atheistischen und interkulturellen Familien aufwachsen?

Das Projekt «Glaubensdinge» erkundete mit einer Schulklasse die Religionsvielfalt als Chance und als Herausforderung für die heutige Gesellschaft.

Vor dem Hintergrund der Judaica-Sammlung des Jüdischen Museums haben Museologinnen und Jugendliche ihre «Glaubensdinge» unter die Lupe genommen. In fünf Workshops mit 21 Schülern und Schülerinnen, einer Lehrerin, zehn Museumsmitarbeitenden, zwei Glaubensexperten und einem Programmierer haben wir Inventarkarten, Zeichnungen, Polaroids, Gedichte, Zitate und Interviews erarbeitet, um diese schliesslich in einer Online-Ausstellung vorzustellen.

Was kam heraus? Die Jugendlichen übten, den Sinn ihrer identitätsprägenden Dinge besser kennenzulernen. Und die Erwachsenen erhielten Einblick, wie die Jugendlichen über die Zukunft der Religion denken.

Das Projekt wurde vom Swisslos-Fonds Basel-Stadt unterstützt.

Fotos © Martin Sautter 2017

Fotos © Martin Sautter 2017

Fotos © Martin Sautter 2017

Fotos © Martin Sautter 2017

Fotos © Martin Sautter 2017

Fotos © Martin Sautter 2017

Fotos © Martin Sautter 2017

Fotos © Martin Sautter 2017

Fotos © Martin Sautter 2017

Fotos © Martin Sautter 2017

Archiv

Pässe, Profiteure, Polizei

Ein Schweizer Kriegsgeheimnis
2019–2020

29. November 2019–31. Dezember 2020

«Wie gern hätte ich einen paraguayischen Pass» heisst es in Władysław Szlengels Lied «Paszporty» (Pässe), das er 1942 im Warschauer Ghetto verfasst hat. «Ich hätte gerne einen Pass für Uruguay, einen für Costa Rica, einen für Paraguay», fährt er fort. Die lateinamerikanischen Pässe, die sich der Erzähler wünscht, sind kein poetischer Einfall. Es handelte sich um eine historisch nachweisbare Hilfeleistung, und zwar aus der Schweiz.

Die Ausstellung «Pässe, Profiteure, Polizei. Ein Schweizer Kriegsgeheimnis» erzählt vom Helfernetzwerk, das Tausenden von Jüdinnen und Juden für die Flucht aus Deutschland und den besetzten Ländern lateinamerikanische Pässe vermittelte und sie auf diese Weise vor dem Tod rettete – was bislang kaum bekannt ist.

Die Ausstellung wurde vom Verein für das Jüdische Museum der Schweiz unterstützt und ist mit dem Archiv für Zeitgeschichte der ETH Zürich unter der Schirmherrschaft der Carl Lutz Gesellschaft entstanden.

Der Katalog ist vor Ort im Museumsshop erhältlich oder online bestellbar bei edition clandestin.

Ausstellungsansichten Pässe, Profiteure, Polizei.
Fotos © Samuel Straessle

Ausstellungsansichten Pässe, Profiteure, Polizei.
Fotos © Samuel Straessle

Ausstellungsansichten Pässe, Profiteure, Polizei.
Fotos © Samuel Straessle

Ausstellungsansichten Pässe, Profiteure, Polizei.
Fotos © Samuel Straessle

Ausstellungsansichten Pässe, Profiteure, Polizei.
Fotos © Samuel Straessle

Das Tagebuch

Wie Otto Frank Annes Stimme aus Basel in die Welt brachte.
2018–2019

8. März 2018–30. Januar 2019

«Das Tagebuch. Wie Otto Frank Annes Stimme aus Basel in die Welt brachte» zeigt die Geschichte des Tagebuchs der Anne Frank aus der Perspektive ihres Vaters, Otto Frank, «der liebste Schatz von einem Vater, den ich je getroffen habe», wie Anne bemerkte. Von ihm bekam Anne das Tagebuch geschenkt, in dem sie von 1942 bis 1944, vor den Nazis versteckt, ihre Beobachtungen und Gedanken festhielt. Otto Frank las seiner Tochter vor, er schrieb ihr Briefe und Gedichte, und er förderte sie im Schreiben. 1947, zwei Jahre nach dem frühen Tod seiner Kinder, veröffentlichte er das Tagebuch.

1952 zog Otto Frank zu seiner Schwester und Mutter nach Basel. Von Basel und später von Birsfelden aus suchte er weitere Verleger für Annes Tagebuch, betreute Übersetzungen und beantwortete zehntausende von Leserbriefen. Otto Franks Entscheidung, die Aufzeichnungen seiner Tochter zu veröffentlichen, war ein wesentlicher Schritt für die Aufarbeitung der Verfolgung der europäischen Jüdinnen und Juden. Nach dem Erscheinen von Anne Franks Tagebuch fanden Berichte, Romane und Gedichte von anderen Überlebenden der Schoa zahlreiche Leser:innen.

Die Ausstellung wurde unterstützt von der Sulger-Stiftung und vom Anne Frank Fonds.

Isrealities

Sieben fotografische Reisen
2018–2019

29. März 2019–1. September 2019

«Isrealities» zeigt sieben fotografische Reisen. Philippe Halsman, David Seymour, genannt CHIM, Erich Hartmann, Micha Bar-Am, Patrick Zachmann, Thomas Dworzak und Oded Balilty führen uns durch das Britische Mandatsgebiet Palästina, durch den sich gründenden jüdischen Staat bis in die Gegenwart Israels. Wir sehen das Leben im Kibbuz und die Feier des Unabhängigkeitstages, den Sechstagekrieg 1967 und die Friedensdemonstrationen der Jahrtausendwende. Wir sehen, was die Künstler sahen und wie sie sahen. Den Fotografien stehen Auszüge aus der Literatur gegenüber, die aus einzelnen Beobachtungen ein Gesellschaftsbild entstehen lassen.

«Isrealities» ist eine Ausstellung des Jüdischen Museums der Schweiz und CLAIRbyKahn, nach einer ersten Idee von Anna-Patricia Kahn. Alle Künstler werden von CLAIRbyKahn repräsentiert.

Kunst nach Chagall

Das Jahrhundert nach dem Durchbruch
2017

18.September 2017–21.Januar 2018

Marc Chagalls Durchbruch ab 1911 leitete das bislang wichtigste Jahrhundert jüdischer Kunst ein. Neue Bilder des Judentums gingen um die Welt, die Ost mit West, Religion mit Surrealismus und Folklore mit Avantgarde vereinten. Mit seinen traumhaft-modernen Gemälden des osteuropäischen Schtetls schuf Chagall ein Vorbild, das Künstler:innen in Photographie, Graphik und Malerei inspirierte.

Im Dialog mit dem Kunstmuseum Basel (Chagall. Die Jahre des Durchbruchs 1911–1919) präsentiert das Jüdische Museum Künstler, die in Chagalls Nachfolge stehen, aus der Schweiz, Österreich, Italien, Israel und den USA.

Gezeigt werden Werke von Paul Graubard, Otto Wyler, Tobia Ravà, Shai Yehezkelli, Roger Reiss, Alis Guggenheim, Friedensreich Hundertwasser und Zoya Cherkassky.

Die Ausstellung wurde unterstützt von: Roldenfund.

Flyer (PDF)

Fotos © Naomi Lubrich

Fotos © Naomi Lubrich

Fotos © Naomi Lubrich

Neuland/Altland

Theodor Herzls europäisches Erbe
2017

18.August–10.September 2017

Im August 1897 rief Theodor Herzl, ein jüdischer Schriftsteller und Journalist aus Wien, seine Glaubensgenossen zum Kongress in Basel zusammen, um sich ihre Unterstützung für die Gründung eines Jüdischen Staates zu sichern. Vom Enthusiasmus beflügelt, vertraute er folgende Zeilen seinem Tagebuch an: «In Basel habe ich den Judenstaat gegründet. Wenn ich das heute laut sagte, würde mir ein universelles Gelächter antworten. Vielleicht in fünf Jahren, jedenfalls in fünfzig, wird es Jeder einsehen.» 1948, fünfzig Jahre und achteinhalb Monate später, wurde der Staat Israel ausgerufen.

Die Ausstellung zum 120. Jahrestag des ersten Zionistenkongresses der Botschaft des Staates Israel und des Jüdischen Museums der Schweiz widmet sich Herzls Erbe und Charisma aus der Perspektive von zeitgenössischen Künstlern. Gleichzeitig reflektiert sie die Rolle von Künstlern, die durch ihre Bilder Menschen zu Ikonen machen.

Die Ausstellung wurde von der Botschaft des Staates Israel in Kooperation mit dem Jüdischen Museum der Schweiz konzipiert.

Die Online-Ausstellung «Altland. Theodor Herzls europäisches Erbe» ergänzt die Sonderausstellung um Objekte, die Einblicke ins Leben und Wirken von Theodor Herzl geben.

Mit grosszügiger Unterstützung der Stiftung Basel-Loge.

Bildkreation © Elena Haschemi Schirazi

Bildkreation © Elena Haschemi Schirazi

Bildkreation © Elena Haschemi Schirazi

Bildkreation © Elena Haschemi Schirazi

Bildkreation © Elena Haschemi Schirazi

Schweizer Juden

Stimmen zur Emanzipation
Installation im Hof
2016

17. März 2016–2. August 2016

Am 14. Januar 1866 stimmten 53 Prozent der Schweizer für eine Teilrevision der Bundesverfassung, die den Juden die Gleichstellung und das Niederlassungsrecht gewährte. Heute prägen rund 18000 Schweizer Jüdinnen und Juden die Politik, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Kultur ihres Landes mit.

Durften sich Juden vor 1866 nur mit besonderer Erlaubnis und in bestimmten Kantonen aufhalten, so kam vor 150 Jahren mit einer Volksabstimmung auch hierzulande die Emanzipation zustande. Mit der Gewährung der Niederlassungsfreiheit wurden die Schweizer Juden am 14. Januar 1866 den übrigen Schweizer Bürgern gleichgestellt. Seither haben Jüdinnen und Juden die Entwicklung dieses Landes massgebend mitgeprägt, sei es in Politik, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft oder Kultur.

Die vom Schweizerischen Israelitischen Gemeindebund konzipierte Wanderausstellung widmet sich der Vielfalt des Schweizer Judentums nach 150 Jahren Gleichberechtigung. Heute leben rund 18000 Jüdinnen und Juden in der Schweiz. Der in Erlach lebende Alexander Jaquemet hat 15 von ihnen fotografiert. Seine Portraits zeigen jüngere und ältere Menschen, bekannte wie unbekannte, aus verschiedenen Landesteilen und unterschiedlichsten Gesellschaftsschichten. Die Abgebildeten posierten an Orten, die sie selber ausgesucht haben, und die zusammen mit ihren ganz persönlichen Erzählungen das jüdische Selbstverständnis in der Schweiz widerspiegeln.

Die Ausstellung wurde vom Schweizerischen Israelitischen Gemeindebund konzipiert.

Animierter Film: «Schweizer Juden. 150 Jahre Gleichberechtigung»

Gesucht, Gefunden

Partnerschaft und Liebe im Judentum
2014–2016

7.September 2014–Februar 2016

Liebesbeziehungen und Freundschaft entwickeln sich in der Kindheit und im hohen Alter. Der Wunsch nach einem Du und idealem Gegenüber beeinflusst das soziale und gesellschaftliche Leben. Religiös oder nicht, dem Zufall überlassen oder vermittelt – mit der Suche nach dem «perfekten Partner» setzen sich alle mindestens einmal im Leben auseinander.

Gibt es kulturspezifische Eigenheiten bei der Partnersuche? Wo finden Juden und Jüdinnen passende Partner? Wie bringen sie eigene Wünsche oder Träume mit gesellschaftlich akzeptiertem Verhalten in Einklang? Welche Bedeutung haben Liebe und Ehe, Familie und Scheidung hier und jetzt?

Das Jüdische Museum der Schweiz zeigt eine Sonderausstellung zum Übergang in die Zweisamkeit oder dem Entscheid dagegen. Die Vielfalt der Partnersuche, die Bedeutung für alle Generationen und der Wandel von der Bibel bis zum Online-Dating in einer multikulturellen Umgebung stehen dabei im Fokus.

1001 Amulett

Schutz und Magie – Glaube oder Aberglaube?
2013–2014

17.März 2013–August 2014

Das Bedürfnis nach Schutz, Glück und Wohlbefinden prägt religiöse und säkulare Gesellschaften von der Antike bis heute. Ein Gegenstand mit magischer Kraft – ein Amulett, ein Talisman, ein Glücksbringer – soll den Menschen vor Unheil bewahren.

Religion, Mystik, Glaube und Aberglaube liegen oft nah beieinander. Der Glaube an die Kraft von Amuletten ist weit verbreitet. Amulette sind zeitlos und schaffen eine Verbindung zwischen verschiedenen Kulturen und Religionen. Das Jüdische Museum der Schweiz zeigt die erfolgreiche Ausstellung altägyptischer und orientalischer Skarabäen und Amulette des Bibel+Orient Museums, Fribourg. Sie wird ergänzt mit jüdischen Schutzamuletten für Mutter und Kind, für das Haus, gegen Krankheit, Gefahr und den Bösen Blick. Die Objekte des achtzehnten bis einundzwanzigsten Jahrhunderts stammen aus der Schweiz, dem Elsass und Süddeutschland, aber auch aus Nordafrika und dem Nahen Osten. Die Ausstellung präsentiert Amulette im interkulturellen Kontext.

Der reich bebilderte Katalog informiert über Amulette vom alten Orient bis in die europäische Gegenwart und ist im Museumsshop erhältlich.

Flyer 1001 Amulett (PDF)