Collection

The Jewish Museum of Switzerland houses objects spanning 2000 years from Basel to Riga, from Aleppo to Eilat and from Spain to South America. The collection focuses on ceremonial objects made of silver, ritual textiles from the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries and documents on the cultural history of Jews in Switzerland. With a steadily growing collection, the museum also collects contemporary Judaica, everyday objects and art.

The muse­um is gra­du­al­ly making its collec­tion acces­si­ble for rese­arch and out­re­ach on its web­site and in parts on the online ency­clo­pa­edia Wiki­pe­dia. An examp­le of this is the collec­tion of «Len­gnau Map­pot» com­pri­sing of 218 Torah penn­ants span­ning almost three cen­tu­ries, making it one of the lar­gest cohe­rent collec­tions of any known community.

The first items to be dis­play­ed in the Jewish Muse­um of Switz­er­land came from the Judai­ca collec­tion of the Swiss Muse­um of Folk­lo­re (now the Muse­um of Cul­tures, Basel). In sub­se­quent years, the collec­tion was expan­ded to inclu­de objects from Basel and the Upper Rhi­ne regi­on, from the two Surb­tal Jewish vil­la­ges of Endin­gen and Len­gnau, and from the rest of Switz­er­land and Europe.

The monu­men­tal medi­eval gra­ve­stones and the Basel Hebrew prints are his­to­ri­cal­ly uni­que. Docu­ments on the Basel Zio­nist con­gres­ses and ori­gi­nal let­ters from Theo­dor Herzl, the aut­hor of «The Jewish Sta­te», show Basel as a city that made world politics.

read more

Highlights

Circumcision Bench
from 1791

This circumcision bench was carved in 1791 and entered the museum's collection in 1973. It was used in a synagogue in Germany as a seat for the circumcision ceremony, the Brit Mila.

The sandak (god­f­a­ther) sits on one seat with the baby, while the second seat is kept free for the pro­phet Eli­jah. The inscrip­ti­on refers to this tra­di­ti­on with words from the First Book of Moses: «You must cir­cumcise the fle­sh of your fores­kins, and it will be a sym­bol of the covenant bet­ween us. On the eighth day after birth, every male in every genera­ti­on must be cir­cumcis­ed» (Gene­sis 17:11).

read more

Pocket Watch
from La Chaud-de-Fonds

This silver and brass pocket watch was made by Jules Levy in La Chaux-de-Fonds in 1901, as can be deduced from the inscription: «Jules Levy. Chaux de Fonds. Tischri 5662. Mon cher oncle.» Levy's «dear uncle» was Aron Rhein.

Tishri is the first mon­th of the Jewish calen­dar year, fal­ling bet­ween Sep­tem­ber and Octo­ber. The hour nume­ra­ls are repre­sen­ted by Hebrew cha­rac­ters. The Jewish com­mu­ni­ty of La Chaux-de-Fonds was foun­ded in 1833 and quick­ly grew, coun­ting cir­ca 900 mem­bers in 1900, when the local watch manu­fac­tu­ring indus­try was at its peak.

read more

Lengnau Mappot

One of the most extensive collections of wimpels was found in the 1960s in the Surbtal in the Swiss canton of Aargau. The 218 textiles, which had been discovered in the women's gallery of the synagogue in Lengnau, span three centuries.

The oldest one dates back to 1655. In 1967 the wim­pels were exami­ned by Dr. Flo­rence Gug­gen­heim-Grün­berg. They are now part of the collec­tion of the Jewish Muse­um of Switzerland.

read more

Torah Mantle
from Endingen

This Torah mantle was found in the storage room of the synagogue in Endingen (Aargau) in 1967, and since it was no longer in use, was donated to the museum.

The mate­ri­al was a French eigh­te­enth cen­tu­ry silk ori­gi­nal­ly used as a ladies’ dress, perhaps even a wed­ding gown. It was repur­po­sed as a Torah mant­le, a con­tro­ver­si­al yet fair­ly com­mon prac­ti­ce befo­re the twen­tieth century.

read more

Collotype
of the First Zionist Congress

The collotype process of the mid-nineteenth century made it relatively easy to produce hundreds of photographs at a time. This collotype shows the 162 participants of the First Zionist Congress, which took place in Basel in 1897.

While most par­ti­ci­pants were men, some women took part as well. Their pho­tos are on the bot­tom row. Women were allo­wed to par­ti­ci­pa­te, but not to vote.

read more

J-stamped
Passport

On 30 December 1938, Agatha Süss's German passport was stamped with a J to mark her as Jewish.

Becau­se her daugh­ter mar­ried a Swiss man, the 63-year-old suc­cess­ful­ly pro­cu­red a visa for Switz­er­land and was able to take up resi­dence with her son-in-law in Basel, thus esca­ping near-cer­tain depor­ta­ti­on to a con­cen­tra­ti­on camp.

read more

Sammlung

Das Jüdische Museum der Schweiz beherbergt Objekte aus 2000 Jahren von Basel bis Riga, von Aleppo bis Eilat und von Spanien bis Südamerika. Sammlungsschwerpunkte sind Zeremonialobjekte aus Silber, rituelle Textilien aus dem siebzehnten und achtzehnten Jahrhundert und Dokumente zur Kulturgeschichte der Jüdinnen und Juden in der Schweiz. Mit einer stetig wachsenden Gegenwartssammlung richtet das Museum den Fokus auch auf zeitgenössische Judaica, Alltagsobjekte und Kunst.

Das Muse­um macht sei­ne Samm­lung nach und nach auf der online-Enzy­klo­pä­die Wiki­pe­dia für die For­schung und Ver­mitt­lung zugäng­lich, bei­spiels­wei­se die «Len­gnau­er Map­pot», eine Samm­lung von 218 Tora­wim­peln, die sich über fast drei Jahr­hun­der­te erstreckt und damit eine der gröss­ten zusam­men­hän­gen­den Samm­lun­gen einer bekann­ten Gemein­schaft darstellt.

Die ers­ten Gegen­stän­de, die im Jüdi­schen Muse­um der Schweiz gezeigt wur­den, stam­men aus der Judai­ca-Samm­lung des Schwei­ze­ri­schen Muse­ums für Volks­kun­de (jetzt Muse­um der Kul­tu­ren Basel). In den fol­gen­den Jah­ren wur­de die Samm­lung durch Objek­te aus Basel und der Regi­on Ober­rhein, aus den bei­den Surb­ta­ler Juden­dör­fern Endin­gen und Len­gnau sowie aus der übri­gen Schweiz und Euro­pa erweitert.

Als his­to­risch ein­zig­ar­tig gel­ten die monu­men­ta­len mit­tel­al­ter­li­chen Grab­stei­ne und die Bas­ler hebräi­schen Dru­cke. Doku­men­te zu den Bas­ler Zio­nis­ten­kon­gres­sen und Ori­gi­nal­brie­fe von Theo­dor Herzl, des Autors von «Der Juden­staat», zei­gen Basel als Stadt, die Welt­po­li­tik gemacht hat.

weiterlesen

Highlights

Beschneidungsbank
von 1791

Diese Beschneidungsbank wurde laut Inschrift 1791 geschnitzt und 1973 für die Sammlung des Museums angekauft. Sie diente in einer Synagoge in Deutschland als Sitzgelegenheit für die Zeremonie der Beschneidung, der Brit Mila.

Dabei sitzt auf einem Platz der Sandak (Pate) mit dem Baby, wäh­rend der zwei­te Platz für den Pro­phe­ten Elia frei­ge­hal­ten wird. Die Inschrift ver­weist auf die­se Tra­di­ti­on, in dem sie Wor­te aus dem ers­ten Buch Mose zitiert: “Dies ist der Stuhl des Elia (es sei sei­ner) gedacht zum Guten” “Und ihr sollt beschnei­den das Fleisch eurer Vor­haut”. (Gen. 17.11.).

weiterlesen

Taschenuhr
aus la Chaux-de-Fonds

Diese Taschenuhr aus Silber und Messing wurde 1901 von Jules Levy in La Chaux-de-Fonds hergestellt, wie aus der Inschrift zu lesen ist: „Jules Levy. Chaux-de-Fonds. Tischri 5662. Mon cher oncle.“ Levys „lieber Onkel“ war Aron Rhein.

Tischri ist der ers­te Monat des jüdi­schen Kalen­der­jah­res, das zwi­schen Sep­tem­ber und Okto­ber beginnt. Die Stun­den­zif­fern wer­den hier durch hebräi­sche Zei­chen dar­ge­stellt, weil die Buch­sta­ben auch einen Zah­len­wert besit­zen. Die 1833 gegrün­de­te jüdi­sche Gemein­de von La Chaux-de-Fonds wuchs schnell und zähl­te rund 900 Mit­glie­der, als die loka­le Uhren­in­dus­trie um 1900 ihren Höhe­punkt erreichte.

weiterlesen

Lengnauer Mappot

Eine der umfangreichsten Sammlungen von Mappot wurde in den 1960er Jahren im Surbtal im Schweizer Kanton Aargau gefunden. Die 218 Wickelbänder, die auf der Frauenempore der Synagoge in Lengnau lagerten, erstrecken sich über drei Jahrhunderte.

Das ältes­te stammt aus dem Jahr 1655. 1967 wur­den die Wim­pel durch Flo­rence Gug­gen­heim-Grün­berg unter­sucht. Sie sind heu­te Teil der Samm­lung des Jüdi­schen Muse­ums der Schweiz.

weiterlesen

Toramantel
aus Endingen

Dieser Toramantel wurde 1967 im Lagerraum der Synagoge in Endingen (Aargau) gefunden und da er nicht mehr in Verwendung war, ins Museum übergeben.

Es han­delt sich bei dem Mate­ri­al um fran­zö­si­sche Sei­de des 18. Jahr­hun­derts, die ursprüng­lich als Damen­kleid, viel­leicht sogar als Hoch­zeits­kleid, ver­wen­det und spä­ter zu einem Tora­man­tel umge­stal­tet wurde.

weiterlesen

Lichtdrucke
zum Ersten Zionistenkongress

Durch das Lichtdruckverfahren, das in der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts entwickelt wurde, war es relativ einfach, Hunderte von Fotografien auf einmal herzustellen. Dieser Lichtdruck zeigt die 162 Teilnehmer des Ersten Zionistenkongresses, der 1897 in Basel stattfand.

Die über­wie­gen­de Mehr­heit der Teil­neh­men­den waren Män­ner, ver­ein­zelt nah­men aber auch eini­ge Frau­en teil, durf­ten aber nicht wäh­len. Ihre Fotos befin­den sich in der unters­ten Reihe.

weiterlesen

Pass
mit Judenstempel

Am 30. Dezember 1938 wurde der deutsche Pass von Agathe Süss mit einem „J“ gestempelt, um sie als Jüdin zu kennzeichnen, aus demselben Grund der zweite Vorname Sara eingefügt.

Da ihre Toch­ter mit einem Schwei­zer ver­hei­ra­tet war, konn­te sich die 63-Jäh­ri­ge ein Visum für die Schweiz beschaf­fen. Süss hat sich mit ihrem Schwie­ger­sohn in Basel nie­der­ge­las­sen und konn­te so dem Holo­caust entfliehen.

weiterlesen