About us

History

The Jewish Museum of Switzerland was opened in 1966 as the first Jewish Museum in the German-speaking world after the Second World War.

The initiative came from members of Espérance (a chevra kadisha; funeral society) who visited Cologne to see the exhibition «Monumenta Judaica» in 1963/64. They discovered that many of the ritual objects on display came from the Basel Judaica collection and decided to present these objects permanently in a Jewish museum in Basel.

When it first opened, the museum occupied two rooms at Kornhausgasse 8. The interior designer Christoph Bernoulli furnished the space.

The founding director, Dr. Katia Guth-Dreyfus, headed the museum for four decades. In 2010 she was succeeded by Dr. Gaby Knoch-Mund. In 2015, Dr. Naomi Lubrich took over as director of the Jewish Museum of Switzerland.

 

The Jewish Museum of Switzerland in 1966

Patronage

The following notable figures are represented on the Patronage Committee and support the Jewish Museum's relocation plans:

Prof. Dr. René Bloch
Jewish Studies, University of Bern

Martine Brunschwig Graf
Ex National Councillor LDP, Geneva

Joël Dicker
Writer, Geneva

Prof. em. Roger Diener
Architect, Basel 

Dr. Christoph Eymann
National Councillor LDP, Basel

Dr. Ralph Friedländer
Vice President SIG and DFA, Bern

Dr. Josef Helfenstein
Director, Art Museum of Basel

Dr. Eva Herzog
Member of the Council of States SP, Basel

Patricia Kopatchinskaja
Violinist and composer, Bern

Yves Kugelmann
Publicist, Basel

Prof. Dr. Lukas Kundert
Theologian, President of the Church Council of the Evangelical Reformed Church Basel-City

Renée Levi
Artist, Basel

Dr. Thomas von Planta
Baloise, Zurich and Basel

Prof. Stephan Schmidt
Director, Music Academy Basel/Hochschule für Musik FHNW

Prof. Dr. Emile Schrijver
Director General, Joods Cultureel Kwartier, Amsterdam

Denise Tonella
Director, Swiss National Museum, Zurich

Petra B. Volpe
Screenwriter and director, Berlin and New York

Dr. Nina Zimmer
Director, Museum of Fine Arts Bern and Zentrum Paul Klee

Annual reports

Team

Biography

Visitor Service

Rebekah Hoeks Mail

Biography

When you enter the museum, the first thing you see is me behind the counter. Since the beginning of this year, 2022, I've been responsible for visitor services and coordinating guided tours. I studied English and anthropology at the university here in Basel. I wrote my master's thesis in Burkina Faso, where I lived for a few years and had great experiences.

Dinah Ehrenfreund

Biography

Collection

Dinah Ehrenfreund Mail

Biography

In my role as head of collections at the Jewish Museum of Switzerland, I preserve and research artifacts from different materials, eras, and regions of the world. As a historian, I am fascinated by objects that have multiple attributions, layers, and provenances.

Biography

Collection

Christina Meri Mail

Biography

...coming soon.

Biography

Graphicdesign & Communication

Elwira Spychalska Mail

Biography

I am responsible for communication and event-organization at the Jewish Museum of Switzerland. I study art history and English at the University of Basel.

Barbara Häne

Biography

Research

Dr. des. Barbara Häne Mail

Biography

I was raised in Basel in the 1980s. After working in nursing for several years, I completed a degree in history and Jewish studies at the University of Basel. My research focused mainly on the history of Jews in Switzerland. My doctoral dissertation studied helpers and Jewish refugees in Switzerland between 1935 and 1955, based on the biography of Otto H. Heim. I have been working at the Jewish Museum of Switzerland since February 2021. An early bird, I am always the first in the office.

Kathrin Gisin

Biography

Digitalization

Kathrin Gisin Mail

Biography

I have been working at the Jewish Museum of Switzerland since May 2018. Until January 2022, I was responsible for guided tours and visitor services. Since February, I have been taking care of the digitization of the collection. On the side, I study Digital Humanities and Cultural Anthropology at the University of Basel. In my free time I like to do handicrafts and make beautiful things out of wood.

Naomi Lubrich

Biography

Directorate

Dr. Naomi Lubrich Mail

Biography

I am the director of the Jewish Museum of Switzerland. Born in Toronto in 1976, I studied literature and art history in New York and Berlin, specializing in Jewish studies and costume history. I worked at the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Jewish Museum Berlin. I love Basel’s museums and its location at the border of France and Germany – and the chocolate.

Biography

Guide

Louise Gillman Mail

Biography

As a freelance tour guide and artist, I support the museum with a variety of tasks, including guided tours, translations and making the museum's collection available on Wikipedia.
Born in the UK into a French-English family, I studied cultural anthropology at the University of Freiburg in Germany and have since been very active in the cultural sector of the border triangle.

Biography

Illustration

Marva Gradwohl Mail

Biography

Already in the preparatory design course, in which I spent a year studying professional activities in art, I was particularly fascinated by illustration. At the Jewish Museum of Switzerland, my narrative drawings support publications in print and online. When I'm not working at the museum or studying art history and communication science at the University of Zurich, you can find me at dance practice or traveling with my sketchbook.

Illustrations
© Marva Gradwohl, 2021

Über uns

Geschichte

Das Jüdische Museum der Schweiz in Basel wurde 1966 als erstes jüdisches Museum im deutschsprachigen Raum nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg eröffnet. Die Initiative ging von Mitgliedern des jüdischen Vereins Espérance aus (einer Beerdigungsgesellschaft, Chevra Kaddischa), die bei einem Besuch der Ausstellung «Monumenta Judaica» in Köln 1963/64 Ritualobjekte aus der Basler Judaica-Sammlung entdeckten. Sie entschieden, diese Gegenstände in einem geeigneten Raum in Basel auszustellen.

Bei der Eröffnung des Museums 1966 bestand das Jüdische Museum der Schweiz aus zwei Räumen an der Kornhausgasse 8, die der Innenarchitekt Christoph Bernoulli in einem sachlichen Stil ausbaute.

Gründungsdirektorin war Katia Guth-Dreyfus, die das Museum über vier Jahrzehnte leitete. Im Jahr 2010 wurde sie von Gaby Knoch-Mund abgelöst. 2015 übernahm Naomi Lubrich die Leitung.

Jüdisches Museum der Schweiz, 1966

Patronat

Folgende namhafte Persönlichkeiten sind im Patronatskomitée vertreten und unterstützen das Jüdische Museum für seine Umzugspläne:

Prof. Dr. René Bloch
Judaistik, Universität Bern

Martine Brunschwig Graf
eh. Nationalrätin LDP, Genf

Joël Dicker
Schriftsteller, Genf

Prof. em. Roger Diener
Architekt, Basel

Dr. Christoph Eymann
Nationalrat LDP, Basel

Dr. Ralph Friedländer
Vizepräsident SIG und EDA, Bern

Dr. Josef Helfenstein
Direktor, Kunstmuseum Basel

Dr. Eva Herzog
Ständerätin SP, Basel

Patricia Kopatchinskaja
Geigerin und Komponistin, Bern

Yves Kugelmann
Publizist, Basel

Prof. Dr. Lukas Kundert
Theologe, Kirchenratspräsident der Evangelisch-reformierten Kirche Basel-Stadt

Renée Levi
Künstlerin, Basel

Dr. Thomas von Planta
Bâloise, Zürich und Basel

Prof. Stephan Schmidt
Direktor, Musikakademie Basel/Hochschule für Musik FHNW

Prof. Dr. Emile Schrijver
Generaldirektor, Joods Cultureel Kwartier, Amsterdam

Denise Tonella
Leiterin Schweizerisches Nationalmuseum, Zürich

Petra B. Volpe
Drehbuchautorin und Regisseurin, Berlin und New York

Dr. Nina Zimmer
Direktorin, Kunstmuseum Bern und Zentrum Paul Klee

Jahresberichte

Team

Biographie

Besucherservice

Rebekah Hoeks Mail

Biographie

Wenn man das Museum betritt, sieht man zuerst mich hinter dem Tresen. Seit Anfang diesen Jahres, 2022, bin ich für den Besucherservice und die Koordination der Führungen zuständig. Studiert habe ich Englisch und Anthropologie an der Universität hier in Basel. Meine Masterarbeit schrieb ich in Burkina Faso, wo ich einige Jahre lebte und tolle Erfahrungen sammeln durfte.

Dinah Ehrenfreund

Biographie

Sammlung

Dinah Ehrenfreund Mail

Biographie

In meiner Rolle als Sammlungsleiterin des Jüdischen Museums der Schweiz bewahre und beforsche ich Artefakte aus unterschiedlichen Materialien, Epochen und Regionen der Welt. Als Historikerin interessieren mich an diesen musealen Objekten ihre vielschichtigen Zuschreibungen und die Wege, die sie zurückgelegt haben. Ich selbst bin über die Vermittlungsarbeit ins Museum gekommen. Basel liegt mir besonders am Herzen, da ich hier aufgewachsen bin und mich die Vielfalt der Museen begeistert.

Elwira Spychalska

Biographie

Digitale Kommunikation

Elwira Spychalska Mail

Biographie

Im Jüdischen Museum der Schweiz bin ich für die Social Media Kommunikation und Organisation von Veranstaltungen zuständig. Ich studiere Kunstgeschichte und Englisch an der Universität Basel.

Barbara Häne

Biographie

Forschung & Veranstaltungen

Barbara Häne Mail

Biographie

Ich bin 1982 in Basel geboren und aufgewachsen. Nachdem ich mehrere Jahre in der Pflege tätig war, absolvierte ich ein Studium der Geschichte und der Jüdischen Studien an der Universität Basel. Mein Forschungsschwerpunkt lag auf der Geschichte der Jüdinnen und Juden in der Schweiz. Meine Promotion befasste sich mit der jüdischen Flüchtlingshilfe in der Schweiz zwischen 1935 und 1955 anhand der Biografie von Otto H. Heim. Ich arbeite seit Februar 2021 im Jüdischen Museum der Schweiz. Als klassische «Lerche» bin ich meistens die erste im Büro.

Kathrin Gisin

Biographie

Digitalisierung

Kathrin Gisin Mail

Biographie

Ich arbeite seit Mai 2018 im Jüdischen Museum der Schweiz. Bis Januar 2022 war ich für die Führungen und den Besucherservice zuständig. Seit Februar kümmere ich mich um die Digitalisierung der Sammlung. Nebenher studiere ich Digital Humanities und Kulturanthropologie an der Universität Basel. In meiner Freizeit betätige ich mich gerne handwerklich und drechsle schöne Dinge aus Holz.

Naomi Lubrich

Biographie

Direktion

Dr. Naomi Lubrich Mail

Biographie

Ich bin die Leiterin des Jüdischen Museums der Schweiz. 1976 in Toronto geboren, studierte ich Literaturwissenschaft und Kunstgeschichte in New York und Berlin; meine Schwerpunkte waren Jüdische Studien und Kostümgeschichte. Ich arbeitete am Metropolitan Museum of Art und am Jüdischen Museum Berlin. An Basel liebe ich die Museumslandschaft, die Lage am Dreiländereck – und die Schokolade.

Biographie

Guide

Louise Gillman Mail

Biographie

Als freiberufliche Gästeführerin und Künstlerin unterstütze ich das Museum mit einer Vielzahl von Aufgaben, darunter Führungen, Übersetzungen und die Bereitstellung der Sammlung des Museums auf Wikipedia. Geboren im Vereinigten Königreich in einer französisch-englischen Familie, habe ich Kulturanthropologie an der Universität Freiburg in Deutschland studiert und bin seitdem sehr aktiv im kulturellen Bereich des Dreiländerecks.

Elena Haschemi Schirazi

Biographie

Grafik

Elena Haschemi Schirazi Mail

Biographie

Als Grafikerin des Jüdischen Museums der Schweiz kümmere ich mich um die visuelle Erscheinung in der Öffentlichkeit: von Plakaten, Flyern und Jahresberichten bis hin zu Social Media Kampagnen und Webdesign. Geboren 1992 in Berlin, studierte ich in Regensburg Medienwissenschaft und in Basel Visuelle Kommunikation.

Biographie

Illustration

Marva Gradwohl Mail

Biographie

Schon im gestalterischen Vorkurs, in dem ich mich ein Jahr lang mit beruflichen Tätigkeiten der Kunst beschäftigte, faszinierte mich das Illustrieren besonders. Im Jüdischen Museum der Schweiz unterstützen meine narrativen Zeichnungen Publikationen in Print und Online. Wenn ich nicht im Museum arbeite oder an der Universität in Zürich Kunstgeschichte und Kommunikationswissenschaft studiere, trifft man mich im Tanztraining an oder mit dem Skizzenbuch auf Reisen.

Illustrationen
© Marva Gradwohl, 2021