Exhibitions

Current

Jewish. For Beginners and Experts

Current Exhibition
2016–2023

What is Jewish? Objects from two millennia offer insight into the oldest
Abrahamic world religion, as celebrated by the Swiss Jewish community
to this day.

What is Jewish? Objects from two millennia offer insight into the oldest
Abrahamic world religion, as celebrated by the Swiss Jewish community
to this day.

A ring from anti­qui­ty, docu­ments from the Midd­le Ages, books from
the ear­ly modern era, house­hold objects from the 18th and 19th centuries,
mani­fest­os for equal rights, tes­ti­mo­nies of the Zio­nist congresses,
belon­gings of emi­grants, con­tem­pora­ry items from Jewish families
today – expe­ri­ence the country’s histo­ry from a new perspective.

 

Video­gui­de (blog arti­cle)
Exhi­bi­ti­on fly­er (PDF)
Press images (ZIP)

Permanent exhibition
Photos © Oliver Kern, 2016

Permanent exhibition
Photos © Oliver Kern, 2016

Permanent exhibition
Photos © Oliver Kern, 2016

read more

Chai

Installation in the Courtyard
2020–2023

The Jewish Museum of Switzerland presents the installation «Chai – חי, or When Gravestones Tell of Life» by Swiss artist Fabio Luks. Four sculptures enter into a dialog with the medieval gravestones in the museum courtyard, posing questions about the meaning of life and death.

The Jewish Museum of Switzerland presents the installation «Chai – חי, or When Gravestones Tell of Life» by Swiss artist Fabio Luks. Four sculptures enter into a dialog with the medieval gravestones in the museum courtyard, posing questions about the meaning of life and death.

«Chai» enab­les a new encoun­ter with the Basel gra­ve­stones on dis­play, the oldest of which dates back to 1223: The Hebrew word Chai / חי, which means «ali­ve» or «he/she/it lives,» is engra­ved on four sculp­tures, which are model­led on medi­eval gra­ve­stones in their aes­the­tics and mate­ria­li­ty. In addi­ti­on, the four sculp­tures are in the form of four let­ters that can be read from left to right as C‑H-A‑I.

Luks jux­ta­po­ses life with death. He refers to the Jewish tra­di­ti­on of cal­ling a ceme­tery the house of eter­ni­ty (beith almin) and the house of life (beith chaim). In the use of lan­guage, the decea­sed live on. Lan­guage plays a para­mount role in Luks’ art. The engra­ved texts turn stones into sculp­tu­re– and sculp­tu­re into souls.

Fabio Luks (*1982, Switz­er­land) stu­di­ed Fine Arts at the Insti­tu­te of Art in Basel and Phi­lo­so­phy and Jewish Stu­dies at the Uni­ver­si­ty of Basel. Text and wri­ting are at the cent­re of Luks’ work. Texts beco­me images and let­ters unfold their figu­ra­ti­ve poten­ti­al. Com­mu­ni­ca­ti­on, tran­si­en­ce, space and being an artist are recur­ring the­mes in his work, which can be seen on his web­site.

Gui­ded Tours (Pri­va­te)

Photo © Harald Neumann

Photo © Harald Neumann

Photo © Harald Neumann

Photo © Ana Laura Rivarola

Photo © Ana Laura Rivarola

Photo © Ana Laura Rivarola

read more

Online Exhibitions

Objects of Faith

What do the youth believe in?
2017

Glaubensdinge.ch (in German)

What do the youth believe in? What role does religion play for twelve- and thirteen-year-olds, who have grown up in Basel in families with multiple cultural heritages?

Together with school classes, Objects of Faith examines religious diversity as both an opportunity and a challenge in today’s society. Against the backdrop of the Judaica collection of the Jewish Museum, museologists and young students placed their own «objects of faith» under the loupe. In five workshops with 21 students, one teacher, ten Museum employees, two religion experts and one programmer, we collected inventory cards, sketches, polaroids, poems, quotes and interviews, a collection that culminated in an online exhibition.

What was the result? The youth were able to better understand the things that have shaped their identities, and the adults were afforded a glimpse at how the young people think about the future of religious practice.

This online exhibition was conceived and developed by the Jewish Museum of Switzerland and supported by Swisslos-Fonds Basel-Stadt.

Photos © Martin Sautter, 2017

Photos © Martin Sautter, 2017

Photos © Martin Sautter, 2017

Photos © Martin Sautter, 2017

Photos © Martin Sautter, 2017

Photos © Martin Sautter, 2017

Photos © Martin Sautter, 2017

Photos © Martin Sautter, 2017

Photos © Martin Sautter, 2017

Photos © Martin Sautter, 2017

Archive

Passports, Profiteers, Police

A Swiss War Secret
2019–2020

29 November 2019–31 December 2020

«I would like to have a Uruguayan passport» – thus begins Władysław Szlengel's song «Paszporty» (passports), composed in 1942 in the ghetto of Warsaw. It continues: «I would like one for Uruguay, one for Costa Rica, one for Paraguay.» The Latin American passports are not a poetic invention, but a historically verifiable service of help that operated from Switzerland.

The exhibition «Passports, Profiteers, Police. A Swiss War Secret» unveils the network that helped thousands of Jews escape Germany and the occupied territories by providing them with Latin American passports, thus saving them from certain death.

This is an exhibition of the Jewish Museum of Switzerland in cooperation with Archiv für Zeitgeschichte der ETH Zürich under the patronage of Carl Lutz Gesellschaft.

The catalog can be obtained in the museum shop, or from the publishing house edition clandestin.

Passports, Profiteers, Police.
Photos © Samuel Straessle

Passports, Profiteers, Police.
Photos © Samuel Straessle

Passports, Profiteers, Police.
Photos © Samuel Straessle

Passports, Profiteers, Police.
Photos © Samuel Straessle

Passports, Profiteers, Police.
Photos © Samuel Straessle

The Diary

How Otto Frank Brought Anne’s Voice from Basel to the World
2018–2019

8th March 2018 – 30th January 2019

«The Diary. How Otto Frank Brought Anne’s Voice from Basel to the World» tells the story of Anne Frank's diary from the perspective of her father, Otto Frank, «the dearest sweetheart of a father I've ever met,» as Anne notes. He gave Anne the diary in which she kept her observations and thoughts from 1942 to 1944, when she and her family were living in hiding from the Nazis. Otto Frank read to his daughters, he wrote them letters and poems, and he supported their writing. In 1947, two years after the untimely death of his children, he published Anne’s diary.

In 1952, Otto Frank moved to Basel to visit his sister and mother. From Basel and later from Birsfelden he negotiated with publishers for Anne's diary, supervised translations and answered tens of thousands of readers’ letters. Otto Frank's decision to publish his daughter's notes was an essential step in spreading knowledge about the persecution of European Jews. After the publication of Anne Frank's diary, reports, novels and poems by other survivors of the Shoah found numerous readers.

The exhibition is supported by Sulger-Stiftung and Anne Frank Fonds (founded by Otto Frank).

Isrealities

Seven Photographic Journeys
2019

29th March – 1st September 2019

«Isrealities» presents seven photographic journeys. Philippe Halsman, David Seymour, called CHIM, Erich Hartmann, Micha Bar-Am, Patrick Zachmann, Thomas Dworzak, and Oded Balilty give us a tour through the British Mandate for Palestine, guiding us through the founding of the Jewish State to present-day Israel. We participate in kibbutz life and the festivities of Independence Day, we witness the Six-Day War of 1967 and the peace demonstrations of the turn of the millennium. We see what the artists saw and how they saw it. Literary quotes accompanying the photographs form out of individual observations a mosaic of an emerging society.

The exhibition is supported by the Society for the Jewish Museum of Switzerland.

«Isrealities» is an exhibition of the Jewish Museum of Switzerland and CLAIRbyKahn after an idea by Anna-Patricia Kahn. All the artists are represented by CLAIRbyKahn.

Art after Chagall

The Century after the Breakthrough
2017

18 September 2017–21 Januar 2018

Marc Chagall's breakthrough from 1911 onwards heralded the most important century of Jewish art to date. New images of Judaism went around the world, uniting East with West, religion with surrealism and folklore with avant-garde. With his dreamlike, modern paintings of the Eastern European shtetl, Chagall’s example inspired artists in photography, graphic art and painting.

In dialog with the Art Museum of Basel (Chagall. The Years of Breakthrough 1911-1919), the Jewish Museum presents artists who follow in Chagall's footsteps from Switzerland, Austria, Italy, Israel and the USA.

On display are works by Paul Graubard, Otto Wyler, Tobia Ravà, Shai Yehezkelli, Roger Reiss, Alis Guggenheim, Friedensreich Hundertwasser and Zoya Cherkassky.

The exhibition was sponsored by Roldenfund.

Flyer (PDF)

Photo © Naomi Lubrich

Photo © Naomi Lubrich

Photo © Naomi Lubrich

Neuland/Altland

Theodor Herzl’s European legacy
2017

18th August–10th September 2017

In 1897, Theodor Herzl convened a congress in Basel, during which he introduced his idea of a «Jewish State.» With our online exhibition, we show the development of his vision through objects, which include items in the Jewish Museum’s permanent collection. We show the development of Herzl’s vision of a «Jewish State.» Originating in the late nineteenth century, it developed into a political movement through numerous Zionist Congresses. Herzl did not live to see the declaration of the State of Israel in 1948, but he numbers among its spiritual founders, and even today his legacy remains: His countenance decorates banknotes and stamps, and his name is inscribed in Israel’s geography (Herzlia, Herzlberg). Our online exhibition draws on objects from the collection of the Jewish Museum of Switzerland to give a glimpse into Herzl’s life and work.

The exhibition celebrating the 120th anniversary of the first Zionist Congress is dedicated to Herzl's legacy and his charisma as seen by contemporary artists. At the same time, it reflects on the role of artists, whose images have the power to turn people into icons.

The exhibition was conceived by the Embassy of the State of Israel in cooperation with the Jewish Museum of Switzerland.

The online exhibition «Altland. Theodor Herzl's European Legacy» complements the special exhibition and can be accessed at: www.jms-altland.ch.

With generous support from the Basel-Loge Foundation.

Image Creation © Elena Haschemi, 2017

Image Creation © Elena Haschemi, 2017

Image Creation © Elena Haschemi, 2017

Image Creation © Elena Haschemi, 2017

Swiss Jews

150 Years of Equal Rights Voices of Emancipation
Installation in the courtyard
2016

17 March 2016–2 August 2016

On 14 January 1866, 53 percent of the Swiss voted in favour of a partial revision of the Federal Constitution, granting Jews equality and the right of settlement. Today, around 18,000 Swiss Jews help shape the politics, economy, science, and culture of their country.

Before 1866, Jews needed special permission to reside in Switzerland, and these permissions were limited to certain cantons. 150 years ago, a referendum brought about religious emancipation in Switzerland. With the freedom of settlement granted by the referendum of 1866, Swiss Jews were put on an equal footing with other Swiss citizens. Since then, Jews have played a decisive role in shaping the development of this country, in politics, business, science, and culture.

The travelling exhibition conceived by the Swiss Federation of Jewish Communities celebrates the diversity of Judaism in Switzerland and 150 years of equal rights. Alexander Jaquemet, who lives in Erlach, photographed 15 of them. His portraits show younger and older people, known and unknown, from different parts of the country and different social classes. The people portrayed pose in settings of their choice, and with their personal stories. Together, reflect a panorama of Jewish self-images in Switzerland.

Cartoon film (in German) «Schweizer Juden. 150 Jahre Gleichberechtigung»
Press images (ZIP)

Wanted, found

Partnership and Love in Judaism
2014–2016

Love and friendship develop in childhood and old age. The desire for a you and me; for an ideal counterpart influences social and societal life. Religious or not, left to chance or arranged – everyone deals with the search for the «perfect partner» at least once in their lives.

Is the search for a partner culture-specific? Where do Jews find suitable partners? How do they reconcile their own wishes or dreams with socially accepted behaviour? What is the significance of love and marriage, family and divorce in today’s society?

The Jewish Museum of Switzerland’s special exhibition on the transition to togetherness or the decision against it focusses on the diversity of dating, what that means for all generations, and the change from the Bible to online dating in a multicultural environment.

1001 Amulets

Protection and Magic – Faith or Superstition?
2012

The need for protection, luck and well-being has shaped religious and secular societies from antiquity to the present day. People turn to objects with magical power – an amulet, a talisman, a lucky charm – to protect them from harm.

Religion, mysticism, faith and superstition are often closely linked. Belief in the power of amulets is widespread and creates a timeless link between different cultures and religions. The Jewish Museum of Switzerland presents (the continuation of) the successful exhibition of ancient Egyptian and Oriental scarabs and amulets from the Bibel+Orient Museum of Fribourg. These exhibits are complemented by Jewish protective amulets for mother and child, for the home, against illness, danger and the evil eye. The objects originate from eighteenth to the twenty-first century Switzerland, Alsace and southern Germany, but also from North Africa and the Middle East. The exhibition presents amulets in an intercultural context. The richly illustrated catalog provides information on amulets from the ancient Orient to Europe of the present.

Expositions

Expositions actuelles

Juif. Pour débutants et avancés

Exposition permanente
2016–2023

C’est quoi, le judaïsme? Des objets datant de deux millénaires fournissent
un aperçu de la religion abrahamique mondiale la plus ancienne et d’une
communauté qui aujourd’hui encore marque la Suisse de son empreinte.

C’est quoi, le judaïsme? Des objets datant de deux millénaires fournissent
un aperçu de la religion abrahamique mondiale la plus ancienne et d’une
communauté qui aujourd’hui encore marque la Suisse de son empreinte.

Un anne­au de l’Antiquité, des docu­ments datant du Moy­en Âge, des livres
du début des temps moder­nes, des arti­cles ména­gers des 18e et 19e siècles,
un plai­doy­er pour l’égalité des droits, des témoi­gna­ges des con­grès sionistes,
des biens ayant appar­te­nu à des deman­deurs d’asile, des objets con­tem­porains pro­venant de famil­les jui­ves aujourd’hui: décou­vrez l’histoire du pays sous une aut­re perspective.

Voir les visi­tes gui­dées (publi­ques)

 

Gui­de audio­vi­su­el (arti­cle blog)
Brochu­re de l’ex­po­si­ti­on (PDF)
Pho­tos de pres­se (ZIP)

Salles d'exposition 2016. Photos © Oliver Kern

Salles d'exposition 2016. Photos © Oliver Kern

Salles d'exposition 2016. Photos © Oliver Kern

continuer à lire

Chai

Installation dans la cour du musée
2020–2023

Le Musée juif de Suisse montre l’installation de l’artiste suisse Fabio Luks, «Chai – חי. Ou quand les pierres tombales parlent de la vie». Dans la cour intérieure du musée, quatre sculptures entrent en dialogue avec des pierres tombales médiévales, et posent des questions sur le sens de la vie et de la mort.

Le Musée juif de Suisse montre l’installation de l’artiste suisse Fabio Luks, «Chai – חי. Ou quand les pierres tombales parlent de la vie». Dans la cour intérieure du musée, quatre sculptures entrent en dialogue avec des pierres tombales médiévales, et posent des questions sur le sens de la vie et de la mort.

«Chai» per­met une nou­vel­le ren­cont­re avec les pier­res tom­ba­les de Bâle qui sont expo­sées, et dont la plus anci­en­ne date de 1222: sur quat­re sculp­tures qui, dans leur esthé­tique et leur maté­ria­li­té, rap­pel­lent les pier­res tom­ba­les médié­va­les, est gra­vé le mot héb­reu Chai / חי qui signi­fie «vivant» ou «il/elle vit». Les quat­re sculp­tures ont en out­re la for­me de quat­re let­tres qui, lues de gau­che à droi­te, don­nent le mot C‑H-A‑I.

Luks con­fron­te la vie à la mort. Il se réfè­re pour cela à la tra­di­ti­on jui­ve, qui qua­li­fie un cime­tiè­re de mai­son de l’éternité (beith almin) et de mai­son de la vie (beith chaim). Dans le lan­ga­ge cou­rant, les mor­ts con­ti­nu­ent à viv­re. La lan­gue joue un rôle pré­pon­dé­rant pour la créa­ti­on artis­tique de Luks. Les tex­tes gra­vés font de la pierre le sou­ti­en de la mémoi­re  – des miné­raux, ils font des êtres humains.

Fabio Luks (*1982, Suis­se)  a étu­dié les arts plas­ti­ques à l’Institut Art de Bâle, ain­si que les disci­pli­nes phi­lo­so­phie et étu­des jui­ves à l’université de Bâle. Le tex­te et l’écriture sont au cent­re de son œuvre. Les tex­tes devi­en­nent des images, et les let­tres déploi­ent leur poten­ti­el figu­ra­tif. La com­mu­ni­ca­ti­on, la fuga­ci­té, l’espace et la vie d’artiste sont les thè­mes récur­r­ents de son tra­vail que vous pou­vez con­sul­ter sur son site.

Voir les visi­tes gui­dées (pri­vées)

Pho­tos de pres­se (ZIP)

Photo © Harald Neumann

Photo © Harald Neumann

Photo © Ana Laura Rivarola

Photo © Ana Laura Rivarola

continuer à lire

Expositions en ligne

Objets de croyance

En quoi croit la jeunesse?
2017

Glaubensdinge.ch (en allemand)

Quel rôle joue la religion pour les jeunes de douze et treize ans qui grandissent à Bâle dans des familles croyantes, athées et interculturelles?

Le projet «Objets de croyance» a exploré avec une classe d’élèves la diversité religieuse en tant que chance et en tant que défi pour la société actuelle.

Au vu de la collection de judaïca du Musée juif, des muséologues et des jeunes ont examiné à la loupe leurs «objets de croyance». Dans cinq ateliers composés de 21 élèves, une enseignante, dix employés du musée, deux spécialistes des questions de foi et un programmeur, nous avons élaboré des cartes d’inventaire, des dessins, des polaroïds, des poèmes, des citations et des interviews pour les présenter en fin de compte dans une exposition en ligne.

Qu’en est-il résulté? Les jeunes se sont exercés à mieux connaître le sens des objets qui forgent leur identité. Et les adultes ont eu un aperçu de ce que les jeunes pensent de l’avenir de la religion.

Le projet a été soutenu par le fonds Swisslos de Bâle-Ville.

Photo @ Martin Sautter

Photo @ Martin Sautter

Photo @ Martin Sautter

Photo @ Martin Sautter

Photo @ Martin Sautter

Photo @ Martin Sautter

Photo @ Martin Sautter

Photo @ Martin Sautter

Photo @ Martin Sautter

Photo @ Martin Sautter

Archives

Passeports, profiteurs, police

Un secret de guerre suisse
2019–2020

Du 29 novembre 2019 au 31 décembre 2020

«Comme j’aimerais avoir un passeport paraguayen», dit Władysław Szlengel dans la chanson «Paszporty» (Passeports), qu’il a composée en 1942 dans le ghetto de Varsovie. «Je voudrais un passeport uruguayen, un de Costa Rica, un de Paraguay», continue-t’il. Les passeports latino-américains que souhaite avoir le narrateur ne sont pas une trouvaille poétique. Il s’agit d’une aide historiquement vérifiable, à savoir celle de la Suisse.

L’exposition «Passeports, profiteurs, police. Un secret de guerre suisse» parle du réseau de secours qui a procuré à des milliers de juives et de juifs des passeports latino-américains pour qu’ils puissent fuir l’Allemagne et les territoires occupés, les sauvant ainsi d’une mort certaine  – ce qui n’est guère connu jusqu’à présent.

L’exposition a été soutenue par l’Association du Musée juif de Suisse, et a été conçue en coopération avec l'Archiv für Zeitgeschichte der ETH Zürich sous l’égide de la Carl Lutz Gesellschaft. Durée de l’exposition: 29 novembre 2019 au 31 décembre 2020.

Le catalogue est disponible dans la boutique du musée ou chez edition clandestin.

Photo @ Samuel Straessle

Photo @ Samuel Straessle

Photo @ Samuel Straessle

Photo @ Samuel Straessle

Photo @ Samuel Straessle

Photo @ Samuel Straessle

Photo @ Samuel Straessle

Photo @ Samuel Straessle

Le Journal

Comment, de Bâle, Otto Frank a porté la voix d’Anne dans le monde entier.
2018–2019

Du 8 mars 2018 au 30 janvier 2019

«Le journal. Comment, de Bâle, Otto Frank a porté la voix d’Anne dans le monde entier» relate l’histoire du journal d’Anne Frank du point de vue de son père Otto Frank, «le plus cher trésor de père que j’aie jamais rencontré», ainsi que l’a fait remarquer Anne. C’est lui qui lui a offert le journal dans lequel elle a consigné ses observations et ses idées de 1942 à 1944, lorsqu’elle a vécu dans la clandestinité pour échapper aux nazis. Otto Frank faisait la lecture à sa fille, il lui écrivait des lettres et des poèmes, et il l’encourageait à écrire. C’est en 1947 qu’il publia le journal, deux ans après la mort précoce de ses enfants.

En 1952, Otto Frank alla habiter à Bâle chez sa sœur et sa mère. De Bâle et plus tard de Birsfelden, il chercha d’autres éditeurs pour le journal d’Anne, assura le suivi des traductions et répondit à des milliers de lettres de lecteurs. La décision d’Otto Frank de publier les notes de sa fille fut une étape cruciale dans le travail de mémoire sur la persécution des juives et des juifs européens. Après la parution du journal d’Anne Frank, des rapports, des romans et des poèmes d’autres survivants de la Shoah trouvèrent de nombreux lecteurs.

L’exposition a été soutenue par la Fondation Sulger-Stiftung et par l'Anne Frank Fonds.

Isrealities

Sept voyages photographiques
2019

Du 29 mars 2019 au 1er septembre 2019

«Isrealities» montre sept voyages photographiques. Philippe Halsman, David «Chim» Seymour, Erich Hartmann, Micha Bar-Am, Patrick Zachmann, Thomas Dworzak et Oded Balilty nous emmènent dans le territoire de la Palestine sous mandat britannique, dans l’État juif sur le point d’être créé, et jusqu’en Israël à l’époque actuelle. Nous voyons la vie dans le kibboutz et la fête de l‘indépendance, la guerre des Six Jours en 1967 et les manifestations pour la paix au tournant du millénaire. Nous voyons ce que les artistes ont vu et comment ils ont vu. Aux photographies font face des extraits d’œuvres littéraires qui engendrent une image de la société à partir d’observations isolées.

«Isrealities» est une exposition du Musée juif de Suisse et de CLAIRbyKahn, d’après une première idée d’Anna-Patricia Kahn. Tous les artistes sont représentés par CLAIRbyKahn.

L’art après Chagall

Le siècle après sa percée
2017

Du 18 septembre 2017 au 21 janvier 2018

La percée de Marc Chagall à partir de 1911 a amorcé le siècle d’art juif le plus important jusqu’ici. De nouvelles images du judaïsme ont fait le tour du monde, qui reliaient l’Est et l’Ouest, la religion et le surréalisme, ainsi que le folklore et l’avant garde. Avec ses tableaux de rêve fabuleusement modernes du schtetlech est-européen, Chagall a créé un modèle qui a inspiré les artistes photographes, graphistes et peintres.

En dialogue avec le Musée d’art de Bâle (Chagall. 1911–1919, les années charnières), le Musée juif présente des artistes de Suisse, d’Autriche, d’Italie, d’Israël et des États-Unis qui sont dans le sillage de Chagall.

Sont présentées des œuvres de Paul Graubard, Otto Wyler, Tobia Ravà, Shai Yehezkelli, Roger Reiss, Alis Guggenheim, Friedensreich Hundertwasser et Zoya Cherkassky.

L’exposition a été soutenue par le Roldenfund.

Flyer (PDF)

Photo © Naomi Lubrich

Photo © Naomi Lubrich

Photo © Naomi Lubrich

Terre nouvelle/
Terre ancienne

L’héritage européen de Theodor Herzl
2017

Du 18 août au 10 septembre 2017

En août 1897, Theodor Herzl, écrivain et journaliste juif viennois, convoqua ses coreligionnaires au congrès de Bâle, afin de s’assurer leur appui en faveur de la fondation d’un État juif. Stimulé par l’enthousiasme, il confia les lignes suivantes à son journal: «À Bâle, j’ai fondé l’État juif. Si je le disais tout haut aujourd’hui, je provoquerais un éclat de rire universel. Dans cinq ans peut-être, dans cinquante ans en tout cas, tout le monde en conviendra..» En 1948, cinquante ans et huit mois et demi plus tard, l’État d’Israël fut proclamé.

L’exposition organisée à l’occasion du 120e anniversaire du premier congrès sioniste par l’Ambassade de l’État d’Israël et le Musée juif de Suisse est consacrée à l’héritage de Herzl et à son charisme du point de vue d’artistes contemporains. En même temps, elle reflète le rôle des artistes qui par leurs images font des hommes des icônes.

L’exposition a été conçue par l’Ambassade de l’État d’Israël en coopération avec le Musée juif de Suisse.

L’exposition en ligne «Terre ancienne. L’héritage européen de Theodor Herzl» complète l’exposition temporaire d’objets qui donnent un aperçu de la vie et de l’œuvre de Theodor Herzl. Elle est accessible sur: www.jms-altland.ch

Avec le généreux soutien de la Fondation Basel-Loge.

Création graphique © Elena Haschemi Schirazi

Création graphique © Elena Haschemi Schirazi

Création graphique © Elena Haschemi Schirazi

Création graphique © Elena Haschemi Schirazi

Création graphique © Elena Haschemi Schirazi

Juifs suisses

Voix pour l’émancipation
Installation dans la cour
2016

17 mars 2016 au 2 août 2016

Le 14 janvier 1866, cinquante-trois pour cent des Suisses votèrent pour une révision partielle de la Constitution fédérale, qui octroya aux juifs l'égalité juridique et le droit de s'établir dans tout le pays. Aujourd’hui, environ 18.000 juives et juifs suisses marquent de leur empreinte la politique, l’économie, la science et la culture de leur pays.

Alors qu’avant 1866, les juifs ne pouvaient séjourner qu’avec une autorisation spéciale et seulement dans certains cantons, l’émancipation fut conclue également en Suisse il y a 150 ans par la voie d’un référendum. Avec l’octroi le 14 janvier 1866 de la liberté d’établissement, les juifs suisses furent mis sur un pied d’égalité avec les autres citoyens suisses. Depuis lors, les juives et les juifs ont eu une influence décisive sur le développement de ce pays, que ce soit sur la politique, l’économie, la science ou la culture.

L’exposition itinérante conçue par la Fédération suisse des communautés israélites est consacrée à la diversité du judaïsme suisse après 150 ans d’émancipation. Aujourd’hui environ 18.000 juives et juifs vivent en Suisse. Le photographe Alexander Jaquemet, qui vit à Erlach, a photographié 15 d’entre eux. Ses portraits montrent des personnes jeunes et âgées, connues ou inconnues, venant de différentes parties du pays et appartenant à des couches sociales très diverses. Les personnes photographiées ont posé à des endroits qu’ils ont choisis eux-mêmes et qui, avec leurs récits très personnels, reflètent l’identité juive en Suisse.

L’exposition a été conçue par la Fédération suisse des communautés israélites.

Photos de presse, installation dans la cour (ZIP)
Film animé: «Schweizer Juden. 150 Jahre Gleichberechtigung»

Cherché et trouvé

Le partenariat et l’amour dans le judaïsme
2014–2016

De 2014 à 2016

Les relations amoureuses et les relations d’amitié se nouent dans l’enfance et à un âge avancé. La vie sociale est influencée par le désir de rencontrer l’âme sœur idéale. Croyant ou non, tout le monde se consacre au moins une fois dans la vie à la recherche du «parfait partenaire», en laissant faire le hasard ou en faisant appel à un site de rencontre.

Existe-t’il des particularités culturelles qui interviennent dans la recherche du partenaire? Où les juives et les juifs trouvent-ils les partenaires adéquats? Comment concilient-ils leurs propres désirs et rêves avec le comportement accepté par la société? Quelle est la signification de l’amour et du mariage, de la famille et du divorce ici et maintenant?

Le Musée juif de Suisse montre une exposition temporaire sur le passage à la vie de couple ou la décision contre celle-ci. La recherche d’un partenaire sous ses multiples formes, sa signification pour toutes les générations, et la transition de la Bible à la rencontre en ligne dans un environnement multiculturel sont les principaux thèmes de l’exposition.

1001 Amulette

Protection et magie – Croyance ou superstition?
2013–2014

17 mars 2013 au août 2014

Le besoin de protection, de bonheur et de bien-être caractérise les sociétés religieuses et séculières depuis l’Antiquité. Un objet doté d’un pouvoir magique – une amulette, un talisman, un porte-bonheur – est censé préserver les hommes du malheur.

La religion, le mysticisme, la foi et la superstition sont souvent proches les uns des autres. La croyance dans le pouvoir des amulettes est largement répandue. Les amulettes sont intemporelles et créent un lien entre les différentes cultures et religions. L’exposition couronnée de succès que présente le Musée juif de Suisse montre des scarabées et des amulettes de l’Égypte ancienne et de l’Orient, qui proviennent du Musée Bible+Orient à Fribourg. Elle est complétée par des amulettes juives destinées à protéger mère et enfant ainsi que la maison contre la maladie, le danger et le mauvais œil. Les objets du dix-huitième au vingt-et-unième siècle viennent de Suisse, d’Alsace et du sud de l’Allemagne, mais aussi d’Afrique du Nord et du Proche-Orient. L’exposition présente les amulettes dans le contexte interculturel. Le catalogue riche en illustrations renseigne sur les amulettes, de l’Orient ancien à l’Europe contemporaine.

Flyer 1001 amulette (PDF)