Lengnau Mappot

A Visit to Stefanie Göckeritz’s Studio

Tex­ti­le res­to­rer Ste­fa­nie Göcke­ritz clea­ned and repai­red two of the museum’s Len­gnau mappot.

The Len­gnau map­pot; a collec­tion of 218 Torah bin­ders (also cal­led wim­pels), were dis­co­ve­r­ed in the 1960s in the women’s gal­le­ry of the syn­ago­gue in Len­gnau (Aar­gau). In 1967, the wim­pels were the sub­ject of rese­arch by Flo­rence Gug­gen­heim-Grün­berg, who­se con­tri­bu­ti­on was the first sys­te­ma­tic descrip­ti­on of this kind of collec­tion. Today the Len­gnau map­pot belong to the Jewish Muse­um of Switzerland.

The Len­gnau map­pot span almost three cen­tu­ries, from 1655 to 1906. The width of the fab­ric rib­bons in the collec­tion ran­ges from 10 cm to 24 cm. The length is typi­cal­ly bet­ween two and three and a half metres. The wim­pels are embro­ide­red or pain­ted with deco­ra­ted Hebrew let­ters in Ash­ken­azi squa­re-script. The wim­pels from befo­re 1854 are embro­ide­red, after that they are most­ly painted.

As with all Ash­ken­azi Torah bin­ders, the inscrip­ti­ons on the Len­gnau map­pot fol­low the same pat­tern; first naming the son, then the father and then the child’s date of birth accord­ing to the Jewish calen­dar. Some map­pot addi­tio­nal­ly name Len­gnau as the place of birth. A stan­dar­di­zed say­ing fol­lows: the boy should grow to the chup­pa (mar­ria­ge cano­py) and good deeds under the gui­d­ance of the Torah. This wish, which ori­gi­na­tes from a bles­sing at cir­cumcisi­on, is illus­tra­ted by pain­ted or embro­ide­red pic­tures of Torah scrolls, a chup­pa and other Jewish symbols.

The­re are very few lar­ge collec­tions of Torah bin­ders that come from one sin­gle com­mu­ni­ty. A few examp­les are the collec­tions from Bech­ho­fen and Gerns­heim am Rhein, but neit­her is as com­pre­hen­si­ve as the Len­gnau map­pot. The Len­gnau map­pot bear wit­ness to an unbro­ken tra­di­ti­on of rural Juda­ism in Switz­er­land and are an inte­res­ting resour­ce for rese­arch into fami­ly history.

The arti­cle is also avail­ab­le on Wiki­pe­dia.

 

verfasst am 17.12.2021

Mappot de Lengnau

Visite de l’atelier de Stefanie Göckeritz

La restau­rat­ri­ce de tex­ti­les Ste­fa­nie Göcke­ritz a net­toyé et répa­ré deux des map­pots de Len­gnau du musée.

Les map­pot de Len­gnau, une collec­tion de 218 ban­des de tis­su de Torah (map­pot), ont été décou­verts dans les années 1960 dans la gale­rie des femmes de la syn­ago­gue de Len­gnau (Argo­vie). En 1967, elles furent l’ob­jet de recher­ches par Flo­rence Gug­gen­heim-Grün­berg. C’était la pre­miè­re descrip­ti­on sys­té­ma­tique de ce gen­re de collec­tion. Aujour­d’hui, les map­pot de Len­gnau font par­tie de la collec­tion du musée juif de Suisse.

La collec­tion s’é­tend sur près de trois siè­cles; de 1655 à 1906. La lar­geur des rub­ans varie ent­re 10 et 24 cm. La longueur tota­le est géné­ra­le­ment ent­re deux et trois mètres et demi. Les tis­sus sont bro­dés ou peints avec des let­tres hébraï­ques en écri­tu­re car­rée ash­ké­na­se. Les map­pot d’a­vant 1854 sont bro­dés, ceux d’après sur­tout peints.

Com­me pour la plu­part des map­pot ash­ké­na­zes, l’in­scrip­ti­on sur les map­pot de Len­gnau suit le même modè­le. Elle don­ne d’abord le nom du fils, puis celui du père et enfin la date de nais­sance de l’en­fant selon le cal­en­dri­er juif. Sur cer­tains map­pot, le lieu de nais­sance (Len­gnau) est ajou­té. Un dic­ton stan­dar­di­sé suit ; le gar­çon doit gran­dir dans la bon­té jus­qu’à la houp­pa (dais de maria­ge) sous la direc­tion de la Torah. Ce sou­hait, qui pro­vi­ent d’u­ne béné­dic­tion lors de la cir­con­cisi­on, est illus­tré par des images pein­tes ou bro­dées de rou­leaux de Torah, houp­pot et d’au­tres sym­bo­les juifs.

Il exis­te très peu de collec­tions de map­pot pro­venant d’u­ne com­mu­n­au­té con­nue. Quel­ques exemp­les sont les collec­tions de Bech­ho­fen et de Gerns­heim en Allema­gne, mais aucu­ne n’est aus­si com­plè­te que cel­le trou­vée à Len­gnau. Les map­pot de Len­gnau témoig­n­ent d’u­ne tra­di­ti­on inin­ter­rom­pue de judaïsme rural en Suis­se et con­sti­tu­ent une res­sour­ce intéres­san­te pour les recher­ches sur l’his­toire des famil­les jui­ves en Suisse.

L’ar­ti­cle est éga­le­ment sur Wiki­pé­dia.

 

rédigé le 17.12.2021