In memory of Dr.Katia Guth-Dreyfus

In memory of Dr. Katia Guth-Dreyfus

We Mourn the Loss of our Founding Director

The staff of the Jewish Muse­um of Switz­er­land mourn the loss of its foun­ding direc­tor, Dr. Katia Guth-Drey­fus. For half a cen­tu­ry, she enri­ched Basel with a uni­que cul­tu­ral insti­tu­ti­on: the Jewish Muse­um of Switzerland.

Katia Drey­fus was born in Basel in 1926 as the daugh­ter of Vera and Paul Drey­fus-de Gunz­burg. She atten­ded Leo­nards Girls’ Grammar School from 1937 and stu­di­ed art histo­ry and archaeo­lo­gy at the Uni­ver­si­ty of Basel from 1945.

Her stu­dies took her to Oxford Uni­ver­si­ty and the Cour­tauld Insti­tu­te of Art in Lon­don. She mar­ried Hans Guth (1913–2010) in Febru­a­ry 1951 and com­ple­ted her doc­to­ra­te four mon­ths later. Katia Guth-Drey­fus and Hans Guth had three children.

While her child­ren were still young, Katia Guth-Drey­fus gui­ded groups of visi­tors through the Art Muse­um of Basel. She ser­ved the Art Muse­um for 25 years as pre­si­dent of the «Friends of the Art Muse­um Basel» asso­cia­ti­on. In 1966, she was instru­men­tal in foun­ding the Jewish Muse­um of Switz­er­land. She direc­ted the Jewish Muse­um for 44 years.

In the 1980s, Katia Guth-Drey­fus worked on the com­mit­tee for the reno­va­ti­on of the Basel Syn­ago­gue and was the first woman to give an offi­cial speech the­re after the reno­va­ti­on work was com­ple­ted. She publis­hed nume­rous arti­cles and sup­por­ted the estab­lish­ment of the Jewish Stu­dies pro­gram at the Uni­ver­si­ty of Basel.

Dr. Katia Guth-Drey­fus will remain unf­or­got­ten in the Jewish Muse­um of Switz­er­land. May her memo­ry be a blessing.

On behalf of the team of the Jewish Museum:

Nao­mi Lubrich
Dinah Ehrenfreund
Kath­rin Gisin
Bar­ba­ra Häne
Ele­na Hasche­mi Schirazi
Elwi­ra Spychalska
and Anna Rabin.

verfasst am 26.09.2021

En souvenir de Katia Guth-Dreyfus

Nous pleurons la perte de la directrice fondatrice du musée.

Le per­son­nel du Musée juif de Suis­se pleu­re la per­te de Katia Guth-Drey­fus, la directri­ce fon­datri­ce du musée, qui a enri­chi Bâle pen­dant plus d’un demi-siè­cle d’une insti­tu­ti­on cul­tu­rel­le uni­que en son genre.

Née en 1926 à Bâle, Katia Drey­fus était la fil­le de Vera et de Paul Drey­fus-de Gunz­burg. Elle fré­quen­ta le lycée de jeu­nes fil­les de Saint-Léo­nard à par­tir de 1937, et étu­dia l’histoire de l’art et l’archéologie à l’Université de Bâle à par­tir de 1945.

Ses étu­des la con­dui­si­rent à l’Université d’Oxford et au Cour­tauld Insti­tu­te of Art à Lond­res. En févri­er 1951, elle épou­sa Hans Guth (1913–2010), et quat­re mois plus tard, en juil­let 1951, elle pas­sa son doc­to­rat. Katia Guth-Drey­fus et Hans Guth eurent trois enfants.

Alors que ses enfants étai­ent encore jeu­nes, Katia Guth-Drey­fus gui­da les grou­pes de visi­teurs à tra­vers le Musée des beaux-arts de Bâle. Elle ser­vit le Musée des beaux-arts pen­dant 25 ans en tant que pré­si­den­te de l’association «Amis du Musée des beaux-arts de Bâle». En 1966, elle joua un rôle décisif dans la fon­da­ti­on du Musée juif de Suis­se. Elle a diri­gé le Musée juif à tit­re béné­vo­le pen­dant 44 ans.

Pen­dant les années 1980, Katia Guth-Drey­fus a tra­vail­lé dans le comi­té pour la restau­ra­ti­on de la syn­ago­gue de Bâle et, après l’achèvement des travaux de réno­va­ti­on, elle fut la pre­miè­re femme à y tenir un dis­cours offi­ciel. Elle a publié de nombreux arti­cles et s’est enga­gée pour la mise en place de la disci­pli­ne Étu­des jui­ves à l’Université de Bâle.

Le Musée juif de Suis­se gar­de­ra vivan­te la mémoi­re de Katia Guth-Drey­fus. Que son sou­ve­nir soit une bénédiction!

Au nom de l’équipe du Musée juif:
Nao­mi Lubrich
Dinah Ehrenfreund
Kath­rin Gisin
Bar­ba­ra Häne
Ele­na Hasche­mi Schirazi
Elwi­ra Spychalska
et Anna Rabin.

rédigé le 26.09.2021