Lengnau Mappot

A Visit to Stefanie Göckeritz’s Studio

Tex­ti­le res­to­rer Ste­fa­nie Göcke­ritz clea­ned and repai­red two of the museum’s Len­gnau mappot.

The Len­gnau map­pot; a collec­tion of 218 Torah bin­ders (also cal­led wim­pels), were dis­co­ve­r­ed in the 1960s in the women’s gal­le­ry of the syn­ago­gue in Len­gnau (Aar­gau). In 1967, the wim­pels were the sub­ject of rese­arch by Flo­rence Gug­gen­heim-Grün­berg, who­se con­tri­bu­ti­on was the first sys­te­ma­tic descrip­ti­on of this kind of collec­tion. Today the Len­gnau map­pot belong to the Jewish Muse­um of Switzerland.

The Len­gnau map­pot span almost three cen­tu­ries, from 1655 to 1906. The width of the fab­ric rib­bons in the collec­tion ran­ges from 10 cm to 24 cm. The length is typi­cal­ly bet­ween two and three and a half metres. The wim­pels are embro­ide­red or pain­ted with deco­ra­ted Hebrew let­ters in Ash­ken­azi squa­re-script. The wim­pels from befo­re 1854 are embro­ide­red, after that they are most­ly painted.

As with all Ash­ken­azi Torah bin­ders, the inscrip­ti­ons on the Len­gnau map­pot fol­low the same pat­tern; first naming the son, then the father and then the child’s date of birth accord­ing to the Jewish calen­dar. Some map­pot addi­tio­nal­ly name Len­gnau as the place of birth. A stan­dar­di­zed say­ing fol­lows: the boy should grow to the chup­pa (mar­ria­ge cano­py) and good deeds under the gui­d­ance of the Torah. This wish, which ori­gi­na­tes from a bles­sing at cir­cumcisi­on, is illus­tra­ted by pain­ted or embro­ide­red pic­tures of Torah scrolls, a chup­pa and other Jewish symbols.

The­re are very few lar­ge collec­tions of Torah bin­ders that come from one sin­gle com­mu­ni­ty. A few examp­les are the collec­tions from Bech­ho­fen and Gerns­heim am Rhein, but neit­her is as com­pre­hen­si­ve as the Len­gnau map­pot. The Len­gnau map­pot bear wit­ness to an unbro­ken tra­di­ti­on of rural Juda­ism in Switz­er­land and are an inte­res­ting resour­ce for rese­arch into fami­ly history.

The arti­cle is also avail­ab­le on Wiki­pe­dia.

 

verfasst am 17.12.2021

Lengnauer Mappot

Zu Besuch im Atelier von Stefanie Göckeritz

Tex­til­re­stau­ra­to­rin Ste­fa­nie Göcke­ritz hat zwei Map­pot aus Len­gnau gerei­nigt und instandgesetzt.

Die Len­gnau­er Map­pot, eine Samm­lung von 218 Tora­wim­peln, wur­den in den 1960er Jah­ren in der Frau­en­ga­le­rie der Syn­ago­ge in Len­gnau AG ent­deckt. 1967 wur­den sie Gegen­stand der For­schung von Flo­rence Gug­gen­heim-Grün­berg, die mit ihrem Bei­trag erst­mals eine sys­te­ma­ti­sche Beschrei­bung die­ser Art von Samm­lung vor­leg­te. Heu­te sind die Len­gnau­er Map­pot Teil der Samm­lung des Jüdi­schen Muse­ums der Schweiz.

Die Len­gnau­er Map­pot erstre­cken sich über fast drei Jahr­hun­der­te, von 1655 bis 1906. Die Brei­te der Stoff­bän­der in der Len­gnau­er Samm­lung reicht von zehn bis 24 cm. Die Gesamt­län­ge liegt typi­scher­wei­se zwi­schen zwei und drei­ein­halb Metern. Die Stoff­tü­cher sind mit ver­zier­ten hebräi­schen Buch­sta­ben in asch­ke­na­si­scher Qua­drat­schrift bestickt oder bemalt. Vor 1845 sind die Wim­pel bestickt, danach über­wie­gend bemalt.

Wie bei allen asch­ke­na­si­schen Tora­wim­peln folgt die Inschrift auf den Len­gnau­er Map­pot einem Mus­ter. Erst wird der Sohn benannt, dann der Vater und als nächs­tes das Geburts­da­tum des Kin­des nach dem jüdi­schen Kalen­der. Auf man­chen Map­pot wird der Geburts­ort Len­gnau ergänzt. Es folgt ein stan­dar­di­sier­ter Spruch; der Jun­ge soll her­an­wach­sen zur Tora, zur Chup­pa und zu guten Taten. Die­ser Wunsch, der von einem Segen­spruch bei der Beschnei­dung stammt, wird durch gemal­te oder gestick­te Bil­der von Tora­rol­len, Chup­pas und wei­te­ren jüdi­schen Sym­bo­len unterstützt.

Es gibt nur weni­ge Samm­lun­gen von Tora­wim­peln, die aus einer bekann­ten Gemein­de stam­men. Abge­se­hen von der Len­gnau­er Samm­lung sind Bei­spie­le aus Bech­ho­fen und Gerns­heim am Rhein bekannt, aber kei­ne so umfas­send und zusam­men­hän­gend. Die Len­gnau­er Map­pot sind Zeug­nis­se einer unun­ter­bro­che­nen Tra­di­ti­on des Land­ju­den­tums in der Schweiz und ein inter­es­san­tes Hilfs­mit­tel bei der Erfor­schung von Familiengeschichten.

Den Arti­kel fin­den Sie auch auf Wiki­pe­dia.

 

verfasst am 17.12.2021