The Status of Jewish Women
in Switzerland

Wednesday Matinee
11 August 2021
10am–noon

In the nine­teenth cen­tu­ry, par­al­lel to the foun­ding of Jewish com­mu­nities in Switz­er­land, Jewish women’s asso­cia­ti­ons also came into being. The oldest Jewish women’s asso­cia­ti­on in Switz­er­land is the «Israe­li­ti­sche Frau­en­ver­ein Basel», foun­ded pro­bab­ly in 1834. In the first years of their exis­tence, the Jewish women’s asso­cia­ti­ons main­ly car­ri­ed out cha­ri­ta­ble work.

In 1924, the «Fede­ra­ti­on of Swiss Jewish Women’s Asso­cia­ti­ons» («Bund Schwei­ze­ri­scher Jüdi­scher Frau­en­ver­ei­ne» or BSJF) was foun­ded as an umbrel­la orga­ni­sa­ti­on for Jewish women’s asso­cia­ti­ons in Switz­er­land. Their aim was to net­work the indi­vi­du­al asso­cia­ti­ons with each other. Whe­ther women in the indi­vi­du­al Jewish com­mu­nities were gran­ted the right to vote and to be elec­ted in com­mu­ni­ty affairs was deci­ded auto­no­mous­ly by the various com­mu­nities. Accord­in­gly, the Jewish com­mu­nities intro­du­ced voting and elec­to­ral rights at dif­fe­rent times: The Jewish com­mu­ni­ty of La-Chaux-de-Fonds, for examp­le, gran­ted voting and elec­to­ral rights to the wives of its mem­bers in 1959. By the 1970s, several Jewish com­mu­nities had fol­lo­wed this examp­le, such as the Jewish com­mu­nities in Ber­ne, Gene­va, Fri­bourg, St. Gall and the Jewish com­mu­ni­ty of Zurich.

Today, many com­mu­nities have fema­le mem­bers on the board or even fema­le pre­si­dents, which is also thanks to the work of the BSJF and its mem­bers. On a Swiss insti­tu­tio­nal level, Jewish women have been able to take on important offices sin­ce 1971: Ursu­la Koch was Zurich city coun­cil­lor from 1986–1998, Clau­dia Kauf­mann beca­me the first head of the Federal Office for Gen­der Equa­li­ty in 1988, and Vera Rot­ten­berg beca­me a federal judge in 1994. In 1993, Ruth Drei­fuss, a Jewish woman, was elec­ted Federal Coun­cil­lor of Switz­er­land, some­thing that had, until then, see­med unt­hin­ka­ble even in Jewish circles.

verfasst am 17.12.2021

La position des femmes juives
en Suisse

Mercredi en matinée
15 mai 2021

Au dix-neu­viè­me siè­cle, des asso­cia­ti­ons de femmes jui­ves ont vu le jour, par­al­lè­le­ment à la fon­da­ti­on de com­mu­n­au­tés jui­ves en Suis­se. L’Association des femmes israé­li­tes de Bâle (Israe­li­ti­scher Frau­en­ver­ein Basel), qu’on sup­po­se avoir été fon­dée en 1834, est con­sidé­rée com­me la plus anci­en­ne asso­cia­ti­on jui­ve de femmes en Suis­se. Les asso­cia­ti­ons de femmes jui­ves firent sur­tout du tra­vail cari­ta­tif dans les pre­miè­res années de leur existence.

En 1924 fut fon­dée l’Union suis­se des orga­ni­sa­ti­ons de femmes jui­ves ou USFJ («Bund Schwei­ze­ri­scher Jüdi­scher Frau­en­ver­ei­ne», BSJF), en tant qu’organisation faî­tiè­re des asso­cia­ti­ons de femmes jui­ves en Suis­se. L’objectif était de mett­re en réseau les dif­fé­ren­tes asso­cia­ti­ons. Les com­mu­nes déci­dai­ent en tou­te auto­no­mie d’octroyer ou non le droit de vote et le droit d’éligibilité pour les affai­res com­mu­na­les aux femmes des dif­fé­ren­tes com­mu­n­au­tés jui­ves. En con­sé­quence, les com­mu­nes jui­ves intro­dui­si­rent le droit de vote et d’éligibilité à des dates dif­fé­ren­tes: la com­mu­ne jui­ve de La-Chaux-de-Fonds par exemp­le accor­da aux femmes de ses mem­bres le droit de vote et d’éligibilité en 1959. Plu­sieurs com­mu­nes jui­ves sui­vi­rent cet exemp­le jus­que dans les années 1970, ain­si les com­mu­nes jui­ves de Ber­ne, Genè­ve, Fri­bourg, Saint-Gall et la Com­mu­n­au­té israé­li­te de Zurich (Israe­li­ti­sche Cul­tus­ge­mein­de Zürich).

Dans de nombreu­ses com­mu­nes, des femmes font aujourd’hui par­tie du comi­té de direc­tion ou sont même pré­si­den­tes, grâce au tra­vail de l’USFJ et de ses mem­bres. Au niveau de la Suis­se, des femmes jui­ves ont pu depuis 1971 assu­mer des fonc­tions import­an­tes: Ursu­la Koch a été con­seil­lè­re muni­ci­pa­le de Zurich de 1986 à 1998, Clau­dia Kauf­mann est deve­nue en 1988 la pre­miè­re directri­ce du Bureau fédé­ral de l’égalité ent­re femmes et hom­mes, Vera Rot­ten­berg est deve­nue juge fédé­ra­le en 1994. Ce qui sem­b­lait incon­cev­a­ble, même dans les cer­cles juifs, est deve­nu réa­li­té en 1993: Ruth Drei­fuss a été élue con­seil­lè­re fédérale.

rédigé le 17.12.2021